Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Golf prize money up for grabs 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone CC

See also

The following is a list of the prize money up for grabs for professional golfers at the 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, which is being held from July 31 to August 3, 2014, at the Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio.

The 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational has a field of 76 golfers who have been invited to the event based upon the following. All golfers who participated in the 2013 Presidents Cup, the top 50 players on the world golf rankings, all players who won a sanctioned worldwide golf tournament over the last year, winners of one selected tournament from PGA Tour of Australasia, the Sunshine Tour, and Asian Tour, and two selected players from the Japan Golf Tour received invites.

Tiger Woods has completely dominated the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational since the tournament replaced the old World Series of Golf in 1999. Tiger Woods won the inaugural tournament in 1999, and he has won this event a record eight times, including in 2013.

No other golfer has yet to win the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational more than once, which is easy to understand considering Tiger Woods has won the tournament eight out of the 15 times it has been held. The other winners are Craig Parry (2002), Darren Clarke (2003), Stewart Cink (2004), Vijay Singh (2008), Hunter Mahan (2010), Adam Scott (2011), and Keegan Bradley (2012).

To understand the dominance of Tiger Woods in this tournament, let's look at how much money Tiger Woods has won by winning the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational since 1999. With his eight wins in this tournament, Tiger Woods has earned $9.85 million here.

The total first place prize money up for grabs since 1999 was $18.65 million. So Tiger Woods has taken home 52.8% of all the first place prize money paid out for the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. For more see Tiger Woods has won $11 million at the WGC Bridgestone Invitational since 1999.

The total prize money for this year's tournament is $9 million. That is up 2.9% from the $8.75 million prize fund from last year. The prize money shown below is set for the winner, while the other amounts are based upon past payoffs and could be slightly off because the number of actual players each year can vary a little bit.

Golf prize money up for grabs at 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone CC

  • Winner - $1.53 million

The winner of the 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational will earn a very cool check of $1.53 million. That is up 2% above the $1.5 million that Tiger Woods earned when he won the tournament in 2013.

  • Second Place - $920,000

Second place at the 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational is worth roughly $920,000. Keegan Bradley and Henrik Stenson split $1.385 million, with each player earning $692,500, when they tied for second place in 2013.

  • Third Place - $530,000

Third place is worth roughly $530,000 at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational in 2014.

  • Fourth Place - $400,000

Fourth place is worth roughly $400,000 in 2014. Zach Johnson, Jason Dufner, and Miguel Angel Jimenez split $965,000, with each player earning $321,667, when they all tied for fourth place at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational last year..

  • Fifth Place - $325,000

Fifth place is worth roughly $325,000 at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational this year.