Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Golf prize money for PGA players at 2014 Wells Fargo Championship @ Quail Hollow

See also

The following is a list of the golf prize money up for grabs for PGA players at the 2014 Wells Fargo Championship, which is being played from Thursday, May 1st to Sunday, May 4, 2014, at the Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The Wells Fargo Championship is a notable PGA Tour tournament event because the tournament almost always attracts the best players in golf, and because Rory McIlroy won his first PGA Tour event here in spectacular fashion in 2010. Rory McIlroy shot a round of 62 on Sunday back in 2010 to secure his first PGA win at the Wells Fargo Championship.

The Wells Fargo Championship has been played since 2003. To date, no player has won this tournament more than once. Other notable winners besides Rory McIlroy include David Toms (2003), Vijay Singh (2005), Jim Furyk (2006), Tiger Woods (2007), and Rickie Fowler (2012).

Tiger Woods is still healing from his back operation to repair a pinched nerve, and he will not be playing this week. It's unclear when Tiger Woods will play golf again, but you know Tiger is going to play in the U.S. Open in June at Pinehurst this year if at all possible.

Phil Mickelson will be playing at the Wells Fargo Championship in 2014. Phil Mickelson has yet to win this tournament, but he did finish third here last year. The Wells Fargo Championship will be Phil Mickelson's first tournament since he missed the cut at Augusta three weeks ago.

Golf prize money for PGA players at 2014 Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow

  • Winner - $1.242 million

The winner of the 2014 Wells Fargo Championship will earn a very cool $1.242 million in prize money. That is up 3% from the $1.206 million Derek Ernst earned here when he won the Wells Fargo Championship last year.

  • Second Place - $745,000

The second place finisher at the 2014 Wells Fargo Championship will earn $745,000. That is up 3% over the $723,600 that David Lynn earned here with his second place finish in 2013.

  • Third Place - $469,000

The third place finisher will earn $469.000. That is up 3% from the $455,600 that Phil Mickelson earned here last year when he finished third.

  • Fourth Place - $331,000 (estimate)

Lee Westwood and Robert Karlsson split $589,600, with each player earning $294,800, when they tied for fourth place at the Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow last year.

  • Fifth Place - $276,000 (estimate)


  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink