Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Gluten-free vodka brands

Many people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity are unable to drink vodka because most vodka brands are distilled from gluten grains like wheat, rye or barley. However, there are gluten free vodka brands which can be enoyed by those with a gluten sensitivity.

Tito's Handmade Vodka
Tito's Handmade Vodka

Smirnoff vodka is distilled from corn, and the company's plain vodka should be safe, even if you're sensitive to gluten-grain-based alcohol. However, be careful of Smirnoff Ice beverages they are malt-based and not gluten-free.

Tito's handmade vodka is made from corn. Below is Tito’s statement posted on their website about their gluten-free product

"Tito’s is made from 100% corn and as a distilled spirit, is completely gluten-free. Some producers add a little bit of mash back into the spirit after distillation, which would add gluten content into an otherwise gluten-free distillate (if using wheat as the base), but I don’t do that regardless. It’s an important thing for us, and we actually include “GLUTEN-FREE” in lots of our materials and on the website so people can make informed choices. But, I am a vodka man, not a doctor, so if you have more questions or concerns, you should definitely talk to your doctor about it!"

Poland-crafted Luksusowa (which means "luxurious" in Polish) is the top-selling potato vodka in the world. Luksusowa only makes potato vodka, so again, any concerns about facility cross-contamination should be minimal.

Gluten is the spongy complex of proteins found in wheat, barley, and rye that allows dough to rise. As yeast ferments sugar and releases carbon dioxide, gluten inflates like a hot air balloon, giving breads and cakes their delectable texture.

One person in 100 has celiac disease, the autoimmune disorder worsened by gluten ingestion.

Report this ad