Skip to main content

See also:

‘Free! -Eternal Summer-’ acquired by FUNimation

Free! -Eternal Summer-
Free! -Eternal Summer-© Kōji Ōji, Kyoto Animation/Iwasobi High School Swimming Club

Anime publisher FUNimation Entertainment today announced that it has acquired the simulcast and home video rights to “Free! -Eternal Summer-”, the second season of the popular swimming anime series “Free!”

Based on the light novel “High Speed!”, written by Kōji Ōji, “Free!” follows four boys who love swimming, Haruka, Makoto, Nagisa and Rin, who are reunited in high school and eventually create the Iwatobi High School Swimming Club. In “Free -Eternal Summer-”, following the last swim meet, the boys’ bonds of friendship have only grown stronger and the team just keeps getting better. In the summer however, new rivals and challenges approach, as does newcomer Sosuke Yamazaki, Rin’s childhood friend.

The subtitled simulcast of episode one of “Free! -Eternal Summer-” will premiere on FUNimation.com, Wednesday, July 2, 2014 at 11:30AM EST (10:30AM CDT/8:30AM PDT), with new episodes following every Wednesday at the same time. It also seems that a new FUNimation app, where fans will also be able to watch “Free! -Eternal Summer-”, is going to be available for Xbox subscribers, which should make plenty of fans happy. Anime fans can also watch the first season of “Free!” online now, at Crunchyroll.com.

Although the acquisition of the home video rights was also announced, FUNimation has not yet confirmed any DVD or Blu-ray release details at this time. Hopefully we will hear more news about the home video release in the coming months. No details about the acquisition of the first season were announced at this time.