Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Education & Schools
  3. Education Policies

Four Dallas schools among 25 nominated for Blue Ribbon designation

See also

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has nominated 25 Texas schools to apply for the U.S. Department of Education's Blue Ribbon school recognition for 2014. The Blue Ribbon program started in 1982 and recognizes public and private K-12 schools based on performance on state assessments or national standardized tests. The schools must also have a 40% or higher economically disadvanted population.

Among the 25 school that were nominated are four Dallas ISD schools:

  • Henry W. Longfellow Career Exploration Academy
  • Kathlyn Joy Gilliam Collegiate Academy

  • Middle College High School

  • School of Business and Management at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center

Other schools nominated by TEA include:

  • Avalon ISD – Avalon School
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – Early College High School
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – McCoy Elementary School

  • Conroe ISD - Geisinger Elementary School

  • Clear Creek ISD – Bay Elementary School

  • Clear Creek ISD – Lavace Stewart Elementary School

  • Eagle Pass ISD – Liberty Elementary School

  • El Paso ISD – Transmountain Early College High School

  • Garland ISD – Routh Roach Elementary School

  • Houston ISD – Houston Academy For International Studies

  • KIPP Inc. Charter – KIPP Houston High School

  • Mason ISD – Mason Elementary School

  • San Angelo ISD – Santa Rita Elementary School

  • Waller ISD – Fields Store Elementary School

The schools that were nominated must now go through an application process before being named Blue Ribbon Schools. Those which are chosen will be announced in September and will be recognized at a conference in Washington, DC.