Skip to main content

See also:

Former Flames in 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs

Jarome Iginla
Jarome Iginla
Jim McIsaac, Getty Images

According to TSN on Wednesday, there will be 15 former Calgary Flames who will be on the playoff rosters for their respective teams in the 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs. Leading the list is Jarome Iginla of the Boston Bruins, the all-time leader in Flames' games, goals and points.

The others are Jay Bouwmeester and Jordan Leopold of the St. Louis Blues, Cory Sarich and Jean-Sebastien Giguere of the Colorado Avalanche, Martin St. Louis of the New York Rangers, Todd Bertuzzi of the Detroit Red Wings, Robyn Regehr of the Los Angeles Kings, Rene Bourque and Brandon Prust of the Montreal Canadiens, Scott Hannan and Brad Stuart of the San Jose Sharks, Lee Stempniak of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Curtis McElhinney and Blake Comeau of the Columbus Blue Jackets. The action starts with Tampa Bay playing Montreal at 5 p.m. Wednesday.

St. Louis, Sarich, Stuart and Giguere have won the Stanley Cup in the past. Sarich and St. Louis were each on the Stanley Cup winning Tampa Bay Lightning team that beat the Calgary Flames in 2004, while Stuart won a Stanley Cup with the Detroit Red Wings in 2008 and Jean Sebastien Giguere won a Stanley Cup with the Anaheim Ducks in 2007.

Giguere is also the last Conn Smythe Trophy winner on a losing team. In 2003 he was the most outstanding player in the playoffs even though the Ducks lost the Stanley Cup Final to the New Jersey Devils.

Bouwmeester and St. Louis meanwhile are trying to attempt the magical double this season. They already won an Olympic gold medal with Canada in February at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi and are looking to add a Stanley Cup to his impressive resume. Bouwmeester has also won two World Hockey Championships (2003 and 2004) and a World Cup in 2004.