Skip to main content
Performing arts

See also:

For the weekend - Louisville shows and auditions (Aug. 29 edition)

This time of year, there is plenty to anticipate. The anticipation of the upcoming seasons (two new ones this week), of the upcoming auditions (including two this weekend and three newly posted), and the new shows In terms of the shows opening, As Yet Unnamed Theatre Company bring Oscar Wilde's best-known work to the stage with The Importance of Being Earnest. Meanwhile, Alley Theater will present a double-show engagement with a noir/superhero mashup.

Don't forget about the auditions and the upcoming season announcements. More certainly to come in both categories.

Enjoy!

Opening:

The As Yet Unnamed Theatre Company presents The Importance of Being Earnest until Sept. 6. http://www.louisville.com/content/being-earnest-kentucky-center

Alley Theater presents Detective Partner Hero Villain and The Adventures of Candy Matson until Sept. 6. http://www.louisville.com/content/private-eyes-and-detectives-alley-theater-double-feature

Ongoing shows:

Louisville Repertory Company presents Proof until Aug. 31. http://www.louisville.com/content/proof-found-louisville-repertory-company

Derby Dinner Playhouse presents A Mighty Fortress is Our Basement until Oct. 5.http://www.louisville.com/content/church-basement-ladies-return-derby-dinner-fortress

Auditions:

IUS holding auditions for Once Upon a Mattress on Aug. 29. http://www.ius.edu/theater/auditions.html

Derby Dinner Playhouse presents open auditions on Aug. 29. http://derbydinner.com/audition-information/

Stage One Family Theatre holding auditions for Best Christmas Pageant Ever on Sept. 6. http://www.stageone.org/auditions

Cardinals for the Appreciation of Musical Theatre holding auditions for I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change on Sept. 8 and 9. More information: uoflcamt@gmail.com

Clarksville Little Theatre holding auditions for You Can't Take It With You on Sept. 14. http://www.clarksvillelittletheatre.org/auditions

Season previews:

Bunbury Theatre http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-bunbury-theatre-2014-15-theater-season

Clarksville Little Theatre: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-clarksville-little-theater-2014-15-theater-season

Derby Dinner Playhouse (children's theatre) http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-derby-dinner-childrens-theater-2014-15-season

Jackson County Community Theatre http://www.examiner.com/article/previewing-the-jackson-county-community-theatre-2014-15-season?cid=db_articles

Kentucky Opera http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-kentucky-opera-2014-15-season

Little Colonel Playhouse: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-little-colonel-playhouse-2014-15-theater-season

Louisville Ballet: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-louisville-ballet-2014-15-season

Pandora Productions: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-pandora-productionss-2014-15-theater-season

Shelby County Community Theatre (mainstage): http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-shelby-county-community-theatre-2014-15-theatre-season

Shelby County Community Theatre (Upstairs at 801) http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-shelby-county-community-theatre-2014-15-upstairs-801-theater-season

Wayward Actors Company http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-wayward-actors-company-2014-15-theater-season

Whodunnit Murder Mystery Theater: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-whodunnit-murder-mystery-theaters-2014-15-season

Follow me on Twitter! LouBriantheater