Skip to main content
Performing arts

See also:

For the weekend - Louisville shows and auditions (Aug. 15 edition)

This week is the last week for KY Shakespeare's season, and they close with two theatre companies presenting a remount of King Lear and Shakespeare's characters through a women's perspective in Women of Will. Check out these free performances.

Also, don't forget about the many productions going on, especially the final weekend for the long-running Mary Poppins at Derby Dinner. Finally, don't forget about the auditions, of which three are this weekend.

Enjoy!

Opening:

Savage Rose Classical Theatre Company presents King Lear until Aug. 17. http://kyshakespeare.com/

Shoestring Productions presents Women of Will until Aug. 16. http://kyshakespeare.com/

Ongoing shows:

Wayward Actors Company presents Moonlight and Magnolias until Aug. 17.http://www.examiner.com/article/creating-the-perfect-script-wayward-actors-moonlight-and-magnolias?cid=db_articles

Centerstage presents Spring Awakening until Aug. 17. https://jewishlouisville.org/jcc/centerstage/

Shelby County Community Theatre presents Funny Girl until Aug. 17. http://www.examiner.com/article/a-funny-girl-for-scct?cid=db_articles

Derby Dinner Playhouse presents Mary Poppins until Aug. 16. http://www.louisville.com/content/mary-poppins-comes-derby-dinner

Alley Theater presents Star Trek parody until Aug. 16. http://www.louisville.com/content/alley-theater-beams-star-trek-parody-kenn-parks

Auditions:

Little Colonel Playhouse holding auditions for Black Tie on Aug. 17 and 18. http://www.littlecolonel.org/p/upcoming-auditions.html

Bunbury Theatre holding season auditions on Aug. 18, 19, and 20. http://www.bunburytheatre.org/index.php/shows-events/auditions

Hardin County Playhouse holding auditions for To Kill a Mockingbird on Aug. 18 and 19.http://www.hardincountyplayhouse.com/auditions.html

Shelby County Community Theatre holding auditions for Necessary Targets on Aug. 24 and 25.http://www.shelbytheatre.org/donation/audition/

Derby Dinner Playhouse presents open auditions on Aug. 29. http://derbydinner.com/audition-information/

Season previews:

Bunbury Theatre http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-bunbury-theatre-2014-15-theater-season

Clarksville Little Theatre: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-clarksville-little-theater-2014-15-theater-season

Kentucky Opera http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-kentucky-opera-2014-15-season

Little Colonel Playhouse: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-little-colonel-playhouse-2014-15-theater-season

Louisville Ballet: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-louisville-ballet-2014-15-season

Pandora Productions: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-pandora-productionss-2014-15-theater-season

Shelby County Community Theatre (mainstage): http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-shelby-county-community-theatre-2014-15-theatre-season

Shelby County Community Theatre (Upstairs at 801) http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-shelby-county-community-theatre-2014-15-upstairs-801-theater-season

Wayward Actors Company http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-wayward-actors-company-2014-15-theater-season

Whodunnit Murder Mystery Theater: http://www.louisville.com/content/previewing-whodunnit-murder-mystery-theaters-2014-15-season

Follow me on Twitter! LouBriantheater