Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

First ever FFA Cup draw announced

Paul Okon and Mile Sterjovski conduct the FFA Cup draw
Paul Okon and Mile Sterjovski conduct the FFA Cup draw
Photo by Brendon Thorne/Getty Images

The inaugural FFA Cup draw has taken place and sees the first 32 teams paired in 16 matches in the first round of the 2014 FFA Cup as the draw was revealed on Friday at the Fox Sports Studios.

The four A-League Semi-Finalists were placed in Pot A and would take on Member Association (Non-A-League) clubs in the first round, while the remaining six A-League clubs were in Pot B and would play each other in the first round.

The three A-League ties see Adelaide being forced to make the long trip to Wellington, while Perth travel across the country to take on the Newcastle Jets, who will now be without the services of Adam Taggart.

The most interesting intra-A-League match sees the newly renamed Melbourne City hosting Sydney FC, who attempted to fight City’s change to a Sky Blue kit.

Of the matches involving two member association clubs, only one involves two from the same league as Manly United will host Sydney Olympic.

It isn’t the only match involving two teams from the same state as South Coast Wolves, a team with ties to the former National Soccer League’s Wollongong Wolves, will take on the Central Coast Mariners. The match will offer a moment of revenge for Central Coast Football fans as the Wolves were responsible for the relegation of the Central Coast NPL side.

The two member associations with only one representative will cannibalize each other, as the Australian Capital Territory’s lone representative, Tuggeranong United will travel to Tasmania to take on South Hobart.

There will be a battle of old NSL against new A-League as Adelaide City, formerly of NSL, will take on the newest A-League side, Western Sydney Wanderers.

Two A-League clubs will have to make a cross-country trip for the first round as Melbourne Victory take on Bayswater City and A-League Champions, Brisbane Roar take on Stirling Lions with both A-League sides taking on a Western Australian NPL side.

The full draw can be found at the FFA Cup website, with fixtures and kick-off times announced on June 30th and the opening match day taking place July 29th.

Report this ad