Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

First 'Destiny' DLC expansion packs revealed for PS4, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360

Destiny Expansion DLC
Destiny Expansion DLC
Image courtesy of IGN, used with permission.

As part of a series of “Destiny” announcements on Monday, Bungie revealed the first two expansion packs for the upcoming PS4, Xbox One, PS3 and Xbox 360 sci-fi shooter. The expansions were revealed as part of news on the collector’s editions for the Activision published title.

The first expansion is called “The Dark Below.” There is no date on when it will be released but it is described as, “Set deep beneath the surface of the Moon, fans will discover an ancient tomb that has been unsealed, and a dark god who has risen an evil army in the depths of the Hellmouth, the home of the Hive enemy race.”

Meanwhile, the second expansion is called “House of Wolves.” There are no details on this “Destiny” expansion pack yet but it appears to deal with the Fallen.

According to an IGN unboxing video of the “Destiny” Collector’s Edition, both expansions packs are not just map packs. They will “expand on the story, add new weapons and gear and add new content for every mode.” This was also confirmed by Playstation Access which said that the expansions “will include brand new story missions, cooperative activities, competitive multiplayer arenas, and a wealth of all new weapons, armor, and gear.”

The expansion packs are included in the “Destiny” Expansion Pass. There’s no announcement from Activision yet on how much this pass will cost, but it should be in the $40 to $50 range based on the $99.99 price of the “Destiny” Limited Edition. [Update: The Expansion Pass is $34.99] There’s also no mention on if the expansions will be sold separately or if they will be a timed Playstation exclusive.

However, the Playstation platforms are receiving some additional exclusive content for both expansions, according to an Activision press release. These will remain exclusive to the PS4 and PS3 until at least Fall 2015.

“Destiny” is slated for a Sept. 9, 2014 release on the PS4, Xbox One, PS3 and Xbox 360. The beta will launch on the Playstation platforms first on July 17 followed by the Xbox platforms on July 23. The beta will end on July 26.

Report this ad