Skip to main content
  1. News
  2. Top News

FIFA awards Canada to host the 2015 Women's World Cup

See also

Montreal along with Vancouver, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Ottawa, Halifax and Moncton will host the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2015, as well as the Women's U-20 World Cup in 2014. The announcement was made on March 3rd, 2011, in Zurich, where the FIFA Executive Committee selected host nations for its various tournaments for the 2012 - 2015 period.

“We’re honoured to have been chosen to organise the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015, a decision that we humbly and proudly accept. It’s the most prestigious women’s sporting event in the world. The socio-cultural make-up of our nation will enable us to provide the best possible welcome for the 24 countries that qualify. We’re experienced in hosting large events such as this one, and with the support of our national and federal governments, we’re well prepared. We aim to deliver a World Cup of the highest quality. I promise you that 2015 will take the event to a whole new level”, declared Dominique Maestracci, President of the Canadian Soccer Association.

“We have an exceptional national women's soccer program and it will be exciting to see our team compete here, before enthusiastic Canadian fans”, stated Prime Minister Stephen Harper.




  • Israel, Hamas clash in Gaza
    At least 550 Palestinians have been killed in Gaza in the third week of the war
  • Pro-Russia guards
    President Obama criticizes pro-Russian rebels for blocking off the MH17 crash site
    World News
  • National Guard at Texas border
    Texas Gov. Rick Perry sending National Guard troops to the US-Mexico border
    US News
  • Unlikely Putin defender
    The unlikeliest US politician comes to the defense of Russia's president, Vladimir Putin
  • iPhone 6 coming soon
    Apple is gearing up for the iPhone 6, orders tens of millions of units
  • Gynecologist settlement
    Johns Hopkins agrees to $190M settlement for patients recorded by gynecologist
    Strange News