Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Federal adoption incentive awards announced for 2010

HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebilius
HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebilius
Getty Images

On September 15, 2010, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced this year’s federal adoption incentive award recipients, and Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma are all among the 38 states (along with Puerto Rico), who will receive federal funding for increased adoption rates from their foster care programs. Altogether, HHS awarded $39 million to states that met certain criteria for promoting adoption from foster care. This amount is up from last year’s award of $35 million.

States receive $4,000 for every child adopted beyond their best year’s total. Additionally, in order to promote adoption of older children and children with special needs, states are also awarded $8,000 for every child age 9 and older that is adopted and another $4,000 for every special needs child adopted above the state’s baseline (2007 is the baseline year).

All of this year’s recipients completed more adoptions in the 2009 fiscal year than were completed during the 2007 baseline year.

David A Hansell, HHS acting assistant secretary for children and families, states, “America’s communities benefit when children grow up in stable families. We’re very pleased that the adoption incentives program is helping states improve their programs and place more children into homes that are theirs forever.”

Texas tops the list, receiving $7,468,475, followed by Florida ($5,718,271), and Michigan ($3,511,033). Arkansas will receive $1,360,481, Kansas will receive $531,438 (up from just $72,000 in 2009), while Missouri and Oklahoma will receive $510,180 and $1,204,593, respectively.

All funds will be used by the individual states to improve their child welfare programs.

For a complete listing of all 38 states and the funding they will receive, be sure to go to the HHS website.


Report this ad