Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Movies

'Fangoria' announces 'Chainsaw Award' nominees

See also

Yesterday January 16th, 2013, "Fangoria" magazine announced their choices for the annual "Chainsaw Awards", horror's answer to the Oscars. Inviting readers to e-mail in votes, winners will be announced in the May issue of the popular horror magazine.

The categories are best widely released film, best direct-to-video film, best foreign language film, best actor and actress, and best creature/special f/x.

Paranormal films seem to be leading with "The Conjuring", "Insidious 2" and "Mama" contending with "The Evil Dead" remake for best feature. Absent from the ballots (but surely may be written in by horror fans) is "World War Z" which had high Hollywood expectations but didn't end up thrilling horror fans. Voters are also invited to write in a nomination for the "Fango Hall of Fame", with a list of Horror Icons already inducted to avoid any repeats. The nominee could have any tie to horror, such as directing, writing, acting or special make up f/x, so long as it is horror. The judges have made a strictly horror only policy this year, ruling out films such as "Pacific Rim" and "Gravity".

The Chainsaw Awards started in 1991, going steadily through till this year, honoring horror stars such as Robert Englund, Bruce Campbell and Tom Savini. Voters are encouraged to email votes to until March 20th, 2013. Read more about how to vote or the past inductees of the "Fango Horror Hall of Fame" here.

Winners will be announced via "Fangoria"'s website or the May issue of the magazine.