Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Fan voting for 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame class is open

Fan voting is open for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2015
Fan voting is open for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2015
Getty Images: Streeter Lecka

Fan voting for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2015 is now open and runs through Tuesday, May 20th at noon ET. The five nominees receiving the highest percentage of votes will appear on the Fan Vote ballot, which will be included among the 54 submitted by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel to determine the Class of 2015 on Voting Day, Wednesday, May 21st.

“The NASCAR Hall of Fame is the only hall of its kind where fans have had a voice in the induction process since its inception,” said Brett Jewkes, NASCAR chief communications officer. “And the reason is simple. NASCAR fans are extremely passionate and knowledgeable about the sport and its history, and have demonstrated that with their selections for the first five classes.”

The following 20 nominees were voted upon by the 22-person Nominating Committee at its first-ever in-person meeting on February 21st, and will appear on the Fan Vote ballot on

· Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

· Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949

· Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

· Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion

· Bill Elliott, 1988 premier series champion, two-time Daytona 500 winner and 16-time Most Popular Driver

· Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others

· Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

· Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier series champion

· Terry Labonte, Two-time NASCAR premier series champion

· Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600

· Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner

· Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion

· Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion

· Wendell Scott, NASCAR trailblazer was the first African-American NASCAR premier series race winner, and first to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame

· O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.

· Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

· Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing"

· Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR premier series champion

· Rex White, 1960 NASCAR premier series champion

· Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner

Quotes and descriptions in this piece provided by NASCAR.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad