Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Neighborhoods
  3. Places & Faces

Rockstar Alert features Family Force 5 signs with Word Entertainment

See also

Word Entertainment announced today the signing of alternative rock band Family Force 5 to the label. The band is set to commence the collaboration with the release of its fourth studio album later this summer.

This spring and summer the band has an array of activity planned, beginning with the arrival of the album’s lead music video track, “BZRK” on May 23, 2014. Not to mention, the lead radio single, “Let It Be Love,” which shipped to radio today and is set for a May 30, 2014 add date.

Family Force 5, who has been at the forefront of driving video content throughout its career and is known for its electric live show featuring a unique blend of dance and rock.

Did you know? The band is wrapping up a successful co-headlining run with Building 429 on “We Won’t Be Shaken: The Tour” on May 10 and will continue touring heavily in the coming months with both international and domestic festival dates.

Family Force 5 which consists of members Derek Mount (guitar, vocals), Jacob Olds (vocals, drums), Joshua Olds (bass, vocals), Nathan Currin (keyboards, vocals, percussion) and Teddy Boldt (drums, percussion) formed in Atlanta in the summer of 2005.

Did you know? The band has garnered a loyal following by electrifying crowds worldwide at festivals and on tours including the Vans Warped Tour and Alternative Press Tour, creating chart-topping albums and achieving impressive success at radio with singles such as “Superhero” and “Not Alone.”

Family Force 5’s upcoming studio album will feature 15 brand new songs and is co-produced by Seth Mosley (Newsboys, for KING & COUNTRY) and previous collaborator Riley Friesen (Vota, Staggerford). The iTunes’ pre-order campaign kicks off on May 27, 2014 here.

“Our forthcoming album is a reflection on the liberating, ethereal experience of connecting with the holy,” said Derek Mount in explaining the title of the album.

Derek goes on to state, their new album “is an encounter that transcends boundaries, and that eclipses our frailty and our doubts. The man-made constraints of time disappear, becoming irrelevant. It is union. It is perfection. It is eternal. As 2 Peter 2:8 advises, ‘... Do not ignore this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like one day.’ In this moment, time stands still.”



  • Dan Savage
    Dan Savage cares about LGBT youth, bullying and saving lives
    Today's Buzz
  • Raku
    Teachers and students can use this summer to learn a new skill
    15 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Greek wine
    Unwind with these delicious wines: The thrilling wines of Greece
    7 Photos
  • Mandy Moore
    Exclusive interview with Celebrity Mandy Moore concerning animal activism
    5 Photos
  • Educational family vacations
    Find out how to take an educational family vacation that doesn't break the bank
    9 Photos

Related Videos:

  • The park resides in one of the Philadelphia’s toniest neighborhoods, its called Rittenhouse.
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518324260" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Billy Casper Golf logo
    <div class="video-info" data-id="517452291" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Keep a healthy balance for a healthy you...
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>