Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Everlys, Ronstadt, CCR, Elmore James records preserved by Library of Congress

Linda Ronstadt's "Heart Like a Wheel" album has been preserved by the Library of Congress.
Linda Ronstadt's "Heart Like a Wheel" album has been preserved by the Library of Congress.
Asylum Records

Music by the Everly Brothers, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Linda Ronstadt, Bing Crosby, Elmore James, Buck Owens and the Buckaroos and Isaac Hayes are among the latest recordings to be honored by the Library of Congress in its annual National Recording Registry listing, the LOC announced April. 2.

The 2013 additions to the National Recording Registry include the singles “Cathy's Clown” by the Everly Brothers, “Fortunate Son” by Creedence Clearwater Revival,” “Theme From 'Shaft'” by Isaac Hayes and “Dust My Broom” by Elmore James. Newly added albums include the '60s comedy parody “The First Family,” Ronstadt's “Heart Like a Wheel,” and "The Carnegie Hall Concert with Buck Owens and His Buckaroos."

The LOC cited “Cathy's Clown,” the Everlys' first for Warner Brothers, for its distinctive sound and said the song became their biggest success. The lyric was inspired by a high-school girlfriend of Don’s and its sound was inspired by Ferde Grofé’s "Grand Canyon Suite."

“Engineer Bill Porter used a tape loop on the drums to give the impression of two drummers. Porter got the song’s distinctive vocal sound by having the Everlys sing into one microphone, then feeding that single through a massive plate reverb unit. Porter later admitted, to get the sound he wanted, he tightened the reverb springs to the point of breakage.”

On “Heart Like a Wheel,” it said Ronstadt had the ability to pick excllent songs and put her own stamp on each of her covers. “What made 'Heart Like a Wheel' different from Ronstadt’s previous efforts was the addition of producer Peter Asher, who had been crucial to the career of James Taylor, and the addition of Andrew Gold, who not only arranged the music, but also played several instruments on the album sessions.”

The album contained the songs “You're No Good,” “Willin',” “When Will I Be Loved” and “It Doesn't Matter Anymore.” Ronstadt will also be inducted in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year.

Rolling Stone called Creedence Clearwater Revival's “Fortunate Son” a protest song that made you want to dance. It was inspired by the term “favorite son” from political conventions and protested the draft. "I wrote the music for the song that I was calling ‘Fortunate Son’ without actually knowing what the lyrics were,” says John Fogerty. “I rehearsed the band for a few weeks and, at some point, realized I was ready to write the words. I went into my bedroom. … and wrote the whole song in 20 minutes."

The full list of the 2013 National Recording Registry (in chronological order):

  1. "The Laughing Song" (single)—George Washington Johnson (c. 1896)
  2. "They Didn’t Believe Me"—Harry Macdonough and Alice Green (1915)
  3. "Brother, Can You Spare a Dime" (singles)—Bing Crosby; Rudy Vallee (both 1932)
  4. "Franz Boas and George Herzog Recordings of Kwakwaka’wakw Chief Dan Cranmer (1938)
  5. "Were You There" (single)—Roland Hayes (1940)
  6. "The Goldbergs": Sammy Goes Into the Army (July 9, 1942)
  7. "Caldonia" (single)—Louis Jordan (1945)
  8. "Dust My Broom" (single)—Elmore James (1951)
  9. "A Night at Birdland" (Vols. 1 and 2) (albums)—Art Blakey (1954)
  10. "When I Stop Dreaming" (single)—The Louvin Brothers (1955)
  11. "Cathy’s Clown" (single)—The Everly Brothers (1960)
  12. "Texas Sharecropper and Songster" (album)—Mance Lipscomb (1960)
  13. "The First Family" (album) (1962)
  14. Lawrence Ritter’s Interviews with Baseball Pioneers of the Late 19th and Early 20th Century (1962-1966)
  15. Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson (Nov. 22, 1963 – Jan. 10, 1969)
  16. "Carnegie Hall Concert with Buck Owens and His Buckaroos" (album)—Buck Owens and His Buckaroos (1966)
  17. "Fortunate Son" (single)—Creedence Clearwater Revival (1969)
  18. "Theme from ‘Shaft’" (album)—Isaac Hayes (1971)
  19. "Only Visiting This Planet" (album)—Larry Norman (1972)
  20. "Celia & Johnny" (album)—Celia Cruz and Johnny Pacheco (1974)
  21. "Copland Conducts Copland: Appalachian Spring"—Aaron Copland (1974)
  22. "Heart Like a Wheel" (album)—Linda Ronstadt (1974)
  23. "Sweeney Todd" (album)—Original Cast Recording (1979)
  24. "The Joshua Tree" (album)—U2 (1987)
  25. "Hallelujah" (single)—Jeff Buckley (1994)

Copyright Steve Marinucci. Please feel free to spread our links on Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Reddit, StumbleUpon and other social media sites. Connect with us on Facebook and Pinterest. And don't miss our weekly Beatles news podcast “Things We Said Today” available first on on the weekends, then on iTunes and We are also the author of the ebook Meet a Monkee: Davy Jones,” the stories of our two interviews with Davy.

Report this ad