Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Essential books by Maya Angelou

See also

Maya Angelou, poet, activist, Renaissance woman, passed away yesterday at the age of 86. Her life and work inspired many. In honor of her memory, here are five essential Maya Angelou books.

More Photos

“I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” was the first of Maya Angelou’s autobiographies. It was published in 1969. In it, Dr. Angelou writes about her early years and the many lessons she learned about love, the power of words, and how discovering writers like Shakespeare helped her find her own voice.

“The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou” (2004) offers the reader a single volume of Dr. Angelou’s words of wisdom on her life and experience. It includes “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” and five subsequent autobiographies. An excellent collection for fans of Dr. Angelou’s work.

“The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou” published in 1994 is full of her powerful and inspirational verse. The beautifully written “Late October” is a gem. The collection also includes the poem “On the Pulse of Morning” which Dr. Angelou read at President Clinton’s inauguration in 1993.

“Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women” is another wonderful example of Dr. Angelou’s unmistakable style and talent as a poet. The book includes the title poem “Phenomenal Woman,” “Still I Rise,” “Weekend Glory” and “Our Grandmothers.” The author’s wit and “sassiness” make this volume a must read.

“Letter to My Daughter” offers advice to the daughter Dr. Angelou never had. As she writes in the opening of the book, “I gave birth to one child, a son, but I have thousands of daughters.” The life lessons included in this book are profound ones for all.

To learn more about Maya Angelou, click on her website. Her poems may also be found online at

The books mentioned above are all available online, in bookstores and at your local library.


Arts & Entertainment

  • Iggy Azalea
    Iggy Azalea shakes things up at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
  • Bachelorette
    Andi Dorfman chose a man on 'The Bachelorette', but did he pop the question?
    TV Buzz
  • Jennifer Lopez
    Watch J.Lo transform from Fly Girl to one of the world's hottest women
    18 Photos
  • Child stars
    You won't believe what some of these former child stars look like all grown up
    26 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these stars were thinking when they got inked
    23 Photos
  • Freddie Prinze Jr
    Freddie Prinze Jr. made jaws drop with some shocking admissions about Keifer Sutherland
    Pop Culture

Related Videos:

  • First footage shown of “Mockingjay pt 1”
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Dylan O'Brien of THE MAZERUNNER at Young Hollywood Awards
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Commemorating the start of World War I
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518243299" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>