Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer

England whacks Wales to qualify for FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

See also

England is the second European nation to qualify for the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015.

England sealed their spot yesterday by virtue of a 4-0 win over Wales, guaranteeing first place in Group 6 of the Canada 2015 Qualifiers.

The victor join Switzerland as the first two of eight European nations to qualify for next year's finals in Canada, which will be played from June 6 to July 5 in six host cities - Montreal, Moncton, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Vancouver and Edmonton.

From more than 125 nations participating in the competition, only 24 countries will reach the FIFA Women's World Cup finals.

While qualifiers continue through to Nov. 27, the first eight nations through are England, Switzerland, Australia, China PR, Japan, Korea Republic, Thailand and host Canada.

This will mark England's fourth participation in a FIFA Women's World Cup finals.