Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Edinboro grabs 2014 EWL team championship, wins half of individual titles

Edinboro wins the 2014 EWL team title
Eastern Wrestling League

Edinboro University claimed the 2014 Eastern Wrestling League (EWL) Championships at Cleveland State University Saturday evening.

The Fighting Scots had 140.5 team points, with five wrestlers winning individual championships: A.J. Schopp at 133 pounds, 141 pounder Mitchell Port, David Habat at 149, Victor Avery at 184, and, at heavyweight, Ernest James.

Bloomsburg University placed second in the team title race, with 113 points. Richard Perry was the school’s only conference champ, at 197.

In third place was Lock Haven, with 87.5 points, despite not having any wrestlers claiming EWL titles this year.

Rider earned 80 points to come in fourth place. A trio of Broncs earned conference crowns: Robert Deutsch at 125, Ramon Santiago at 165, and Connor Brennan at 174.

Also winning an individual title was Austin Matthews of Clarion University, at 157 pounds.

Last year’s EWL team titlewinner, University of Pittsburgh, is now competing in the ACC (Atlantic Coast Conference).

A minimum of 22 EWL wrestlers automatically qualify for the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, to be held in Oklahoma City on March 20-22.

Match Results – Championship Finals

  • 125: Robert Deutsch (Rider) dec. Kory Mines (Edinboro), 2-1
  • 133: A.J. Schopp (Edinboro) tech. fall Nick Wilcox (Bloomsburg), 18-0 (5:00)
  • 141: Mitchell Port (Edinboro) maj. dec. Daniel Neff (Lock Haven), 12-2
  • 149: David Habat (Edinboro) dec. Bryce Busler (Bloomsburg), 6-0
  • 157: Austin Matthews (Clarion) dec. Johnny Greisheimer (Edinboro), 7-5
  • 165: Ramon Santiago (Rider) dec. Josh Veltre (Bloomsburg), 2-1
  • 174: Connor Brennan (Rider) dec. Mike Dessino (Bloomsburg), 9-4
  • 184: Victor Avery (Edinboro) dec. Fred Garcia (Lock Haven), 8-2
  • 197: Richard Perry (Bloomsburg) pinned Phil Sprenkle (Lock Haven), 6:47
  • Hwt: Ernest James (Edinboro) dec. Justin Grant (Bloomsburg), 3-1 OT

Final Team Standings

  1. Edinboro, 140.5 team points
  2. Bloomsburg, 113
  3. Lock Haven, 87.5
  4. Rider, 80
  5. Cleveland State, 74.5
  6. Clarion, 69.5
  7. George Mason, 43.5

It's the most exciting time of the college wrestling season. Subscribe today! Keep up with the biggest on-the-mat developments (including conference and national championships), as well coach hirings, firings and retirings, new programs, new events, new ways to promote wrestling, and other stories you won't find elsewhere... by clicking the "subscribe" button at the top of the page to make sure you don't miss a single article from College Wrestling Examiner, winner of Amateur Wrestling News' Dellinger Award as wrestling writer of 2011. It's absolutely FREE!


College Wrestling 101: Links to College Wrestling Examiner articles answering basic questions about wrestling, including rules, scoring, uniforms, more

Follow College Wrestling Examiner Mark Palmer on Twitter

Report this ad