Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Edina Hornets sting again

There was a lot of green Saturday night at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul as Edina fans, dressed in green populated the arena's darker shaded seats to see Miquel Fidler and Kieffer Bellows score two goals apiece. to lead the Hornets to a 8-2 win over the Lakeville North Panthers in the Class AA championship game.

It was the second consecutive state title and 12th overall for Edina. The total also includes three championships won as Edina East.

Garrett Wait didn't have to wait long to set up the Hornets first goal as he centered to Casey Dornbach and he scored 2:09 into the game. The Panthers countered on Max Johnson's rebound goal. Edina regained the lead :33 later when Cullen Munson's end wall pass to Ben Foley led to a goal. The Hornets power play show superb passing with the end resulting in Fidler's first goal. Johnson would round out the scoring for Lakeville North on a power play goal with 2:24 left in the period.

The Hornets would tally three times in the second. The first would be Fidler's second as he got a pass from Dylan Malmquist on the right side of the net and he put it in the net. Edina capitalized on a Lakeville North turnover as Parker Mismash intercepted Jack McNeely and and scored from the edge of the left face off circle. Bellows went top shelf to round out the second period scoring.

It was also Bellows, the son of former North Star Brian who added a goal in the third period to put the Hornets up by five. Munson came through on a five on three situation to conclude the scoring. Edina's outstanding defense and Andrew Eohkohl's solid goal tending kept Lakeville North from getting closer.

The Hornets out shot the Panthers 23-14.

In the third place game, the Eagan Wildcats beat the Eden Prairie Eagles 8-4, though the Eagles got a hat trick from Michael Parrish. Alex Strand's game winning goal with 1:41 left in regulation led the Roseau Rams to a 3-2 win over the Duluth East Greyhounds at Mariucci Arena in Minneapolis.

The Class AA Herb Brooks Award winner was Zach Yon of Roseau. The award is given to a player that sets an example of the late coach as show in a video board presentation.

The evening session attendance was 16,594. Total tournament attendance was 119,178

Report this ad