Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

DSO premiere of Osvaldo Golijov’s Sidereus

DSO premieres celebrated composer Osvaldo Golijov’s Sidereus
DSO premieres celebrated composer Osvaldo Golijov’s Sidereus

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) will premiere celebrated composer Osvaldo Golijov’s Sidereus on Nov. 4, a piece co-commissioned by the DSO. The orchestra will be led by guest conductor Joana Carneiro, who will be making her DSO debut. Guitar sensation Xuefei Yang will also join the DSO to perform Joaquín Rodrigo’s haunting Concierto de Aranjuez for Guitar and Orchestra. The performances will take place Fri., Nov.4 at 10:45 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. at Orchestra Hall.

In 2008, Osvaldo Golijov was commissioned by a consortium of 35 American orchestras (including the DSO) to compose a piece honoring the retirement of Henry Fogel, long-time CEO of the League of American Orchestras. The title of Golijov’s commission is drawn from a book by Galileo, Sidereus Nuncius, or “Starry Messenger,” which was written by the astronomer upon observing the moon through a telescope, and later observing the moons of Jupiter. “While the moon is still good for love and lovers and poets, a scientific observation can lead us to entirely new realizations,” wrote Golijov of the piece.

Noted for her vibrant performances in a wide variety of musical styles, Joana Carneiro has attracted considerable attention as one of the most outstanding young conductors working today. Af ter receiving conducting degrees from Academia Nacional Superior de Orquestra in Lisbon, Portugal and Northwestern University, Carneiro completed her doctoral work at the University of Michigan, where she was a Helen Wu Graduate Fellow in Conducting. In January 2009 she was named music director of the Berkeley Symphony, succeeding Kent Nagano and becoming only the third music director in the 40-year history of the orchestra. She currently serves as official guest conductor of the Gulbenkian Orchestra in Lisbon.

Born in Beijing, now based in the UK, Xuefei Yang is acclaimed as one of the world’s finest classical guitarists. Born following the Cultural Revolution, an era when Western music & instruments were banned, the fascinating story of Fei’s rise to the world stage, is that of a musical pioneer. She was the first ever guitarist in China to enter a music school, and became the first to launch an international professional career. Learn more at


Tickets to Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 begin at $15 and may be purchased at the Max M. Fisher Music Center box office (3711 Woodward Ave., Detroit); by calling (313) 576-5111; or online at For group discount information (10 people or more), please contact Chuck Dyer at (313) 576-5130 or


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Joana Carneiro, conductor
Xuefei Yang, guitar
Fri., Nov. 4 at 10:45 a.m. and 8 p.m.

OSVALDO GOLIJOV Sidereus (DSO premiere and co-commission)
RODRIGO Concierto de Aranjuez for Guitar and Orchestra
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64


Report this ad