Skip to main content

See also:

‘Dragon Age: Inquisition’ post-game content is completely optional

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition
Photo courtesy of Electronic Arts, used with permission

For the first time in Bioware’s fantasy franchise, Dragon Age: Inquisition will allow gamers to continue playing within the world of Thedas after they have completed the title’s main storyline. The decision to let fans continue engaging side content after beating the game is part of the developer’s goal to bring the series to a more open world that emphasizes exploration. However, players will be able to decide when to engage in bonus missions after Dragon Age creative director Mike Laidlaw confirmed on Aug 5 that most content can be played either before or after finishing the game.

The ability for players to explore the game and tackle side quests at their own pace is part of the new design direction that Bioware is taking in Dragon Age: Inquisition. For those who want to rush through the title’s narrative content, they can do so without feeling like they missed anything because they can always go back and experience all of the Inquisition’s secondary missions after beating the game.

Conversely, gamers who would rather take their time in reaching the end of Dragon Age: Inquisition’s storyline can also do so. Fans can slowly explore Orlais while completing all bonus quests that they encounter along the way. Furthermore, Laidlaw confirmed that no additional content will be unlocked after beating the game so players have the option of experiencing everything the title has to offer by the time that they have finished the campaign.

Fans will once again be allowed to customize their own character in Dragon Age: Inquisition. As has become common in Bioware titles, players will form an adventuring party with several NPC companions who each have their own combat style and personality. The ability to engage in in-game romances will also return in the series’ next installment. Dragon Age: Inquisition releases on Nov 18.