Skip to main content

See also:

'Dragon Age: Inquisition' experience points, leveling system and more explained

'Dragon Age Inquisition'
'Dragon Age Inquisition'
Photo courtesy of Electronic Arts, used with permission

Mike Laidlaw has provided an explanation as to how the leveling system will function in the upcoming multiplatform title, "Dragon Age: Inquisition." In an interview with Gaming Bolt on Aug. 17, the creative director disclosed that the development team won't be imposing any restrictive limitations in regards to how far a player should be able to increase their character levels. He explained that simply stopping the end user from earning experience in an arbitrary way would not be good.

Instead, Bioware is using a mechanic in which enemies who are at much lower levels than the characters won't give any experience points. Mike Laidlaw believes that this is a much softer way to put a "cap" to leveling as players will have to defeat the toughest enemies in the game in order to get to that the max level. He also thinks that the player should just about be done with the game once he or she can no longer gain any more experience points from even the toughest opposition.

"Dragon Age: Inquisition" should have plenty of replay value due to the branching paths and multiple endings. Players can also play as four different races (Dwarf, Elf, Human and Qunari), which should also change how certain dialogues and other situations in the story are presented. So, even if players managed to max out in one play through, they won't be able to see all the contents in the action role-playing game.

"Dragon Age: Inquisition," which is using the same Frostbite 3 engine as the upcoming tentatively-titled "Mass Effect 4," was first confirmed to come out in Oct. 7. However, Bioware decided to pushed the sequel back a little bit so that they could put more finishing touches on the project. As a result, it is now slated to come out on Nov. 18 for the PC, PS3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One. You can find a screenshot of the latest "Dragon Age" installment from the series' Facebook page near the top of this article.