Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

'Dragon Age: Inquisition' classes and specialization detailed, new screenshots

Photo courtesy of BioWare, used with permission

More information continues to surface on “Dragon Age: Inquisition”. BioWare updated the game’s official website Friday with not only new screenshots but details on the game’s three classes as well as the specializations for each in the PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360 and PC RPG.

The “Dragon Age: Inquisition” classes don’t break from the fantasy conventions much as the Warrior, Mage and Rogue are all represented. As expected, Warriors are the front-line fighters and masters of close combat; Mages use various ice, fire and healing magic; and the Rogue uses a mixture of stealth and mobility combined with bows, daggers and other tricks.

Each of the three classes has their own specializations as well. Officially, BioWare has only revealed one for each class but a dip into the files of the “Dragon Age: Inquisition” website has revealed more (H/T: NeoGAF). The Warrior class has the Champion, Templar and Reaver specializations; the Mage includes the Knight Enchanter, Necromancer and Rift Mage specializations; and the Roge comes with the Artificer, Assassin and Tempest specializations.


Battle-hardened and masters of close combat, warriors are pivotal to any group entering battle. As front-line fighters, they absorb the brunt of opponent attacks, steal enemy focus, and create an opening for deadly ranged assaults from other classes. While some warriors prefer visceral, sweeping damage, many are silverite-clad bulwarks, weathering any blows they don't deflect with their shields.

Warrior Champion specialization

Champions are defenders and protectors, and when a warrior trains in the champion's tradition, he or she becomes unstoppable. Champions use their armor, weapon and awareness to shrug off incoming attacks while holding critical positions on the battlefield and protecting allies in the process.


Those who can tap into the raw energy of the Fade and block the whispering temptations of demons are truly exceptional. When they turn that mental focus onto the field of war, they can be truly terrifying opponents. Rains of fire, walls of ice, or even the ability to heal allies make up a mage's toolkit. Most employ considerable skills rendering foes not only weakened, but also vulnerable to physical attacks, setting up opportunities for their teammates to exploit.

Mage Knight Enchanter specialization

Among the Circles of Magi, only a few mages have the strength of will necessary to focus their energy inward. Wrapped in protective magics and wielding blades of arcane force, the Knight Enchanters are rare, but inspiring sights as they lead the charge into enemy ranks.


Armed with bows, daggers, and any number of dirty tricks, the rogue's primary focus is damage: tearing foes down one at a time with systematic efficiency. Rogues commonly use a mixture of stealth and mobility to reach positions of advantage, be it a sniper's perch away from enemy blades or behind an unsuspecting mage. Deadly and resourceful, rogues can tip the balance of any strategic assault.

Rogue Artificer specialization

Intricate mechanisms are the core of the artificer's craft: Deadly traps; Distracting contraptions; Marvels of engineering turned to deadly purpose. If an artificer is standing at the far end of a seemingly innocuous stretch of the battlefield, you should find another path. If he or she is smiling? Best just to hope your affairs are in order.

“Dragon Age: Inquisition” thrusts players into the role of the Inquisitor following a tear in the Veil and an invasion of demons. As tears begin appearing across the land, players will not only need to enter into combat but build up and command the Inquisition to expand their power and influence as well as to find the cause of the tears and put a stop to it. This is done through the War Table mechanic, shown at the end of the recent trailer, where the player can send allies away on missions. A similar mechanic appeared in “Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood”.

The playable races include Human, Dwarf and Elf like in “Dragon Age: Origins” but Qunari have been added as a playable race. The Playstation 4, Xbox One, Playstation 3, Xbox 360 and PC will all receive “Dragon Age: Inquisition” on Oct. 7, 2014.

Report this ad