Skip to main content

Dolly Parton to receive 2009 Jim Reeves International Award from the Academy of Country Music


East Tennessee’s own Dolly Parton will receive the 2009 Jim Reeves International Award during the Second Annual Academy of Country Music Honors event. Scheduled to take place September 22, 2009 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville, TN, the awards presentation will recognize winners of the Academy of Country Music Special Awards for 2009.

The Jim Reeves Award is presented to those who have made outstanding contributions in bringing country music around the world. It is named in honor of of the late Jim Reeves, a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame, and who during the 1950’s and early 1960’s topped both the country and popular music charts. Prior to his death in 1964, Reeves was as popular, if not more so, in the United Kingdom and in Europe than he was in the United States.

The Second Annual ACM Honors event will be hosted by country music artist Lee Ann Womack.  The event will honor this year's Special Award recipients Merle Haggard, Harlan Howard, Dolly Parton, Jerry Reed, Kenny Rogers, Randy Travis, Hank Williams Jr., David Young and the film "Beer For My Horses" along with winners of the MBI (musician, bandleader, instrumentalist) and Industry categories, which were not televised during the live telecast of the Academy of Country Music Awards.

Lee Ann Womack will also be performing at the event.  Other performers schedule include Bobby Bare, Vince Gill, Randy Houser, Jamey Johnson, Miranda Lambert, Jim Lauderdale, Patty Loveless, Brent Mason, Joe Nichols, James Otto, Kellie Pickler, John Rich, Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood and Steve Wariner.

Presenters include ACM Award-winner Rodney Atkins and ACM Award-winner and Board Member Eddie Montgomery.

The Academy of Country Music Special Awards are voted on by the ACM Board of Directors and are awarded during years where the Board of Directors feels there are clear and deserving candidates.

2009 honorees include:

• Jim Reeves International Award - Dolly Parton
• Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award - Jerry Reed, Kenny Rogers, Randy Travis, Hank Williams Jr. 
• Mae Boren Axton Award - David Young
• Poet's Award - Merle Haggard, Harlan Howard
• Tex Ritter Award - "Beer For My Horses" 
Photo credit:


Follow Eric Bohlen on Twitter