Skip to main content

See also:

Dobama Theatre presents Annie Baker’s ‘The Aliens’

Scenes from the upcoming Dobama Theatre production of "The Aliens".
Scenes from the upcoming Dobama Theatre production of "The Aliens".
Steve Wagner

Show is fourth Mainstage production of the 2013-2014 season

Two veterans of life share their experiences with a newbie.
Dobama Theatre

Dobama Theatre
The Aliens
2340 Lee Road
Cleveland, Ohio
January 24 through February 23, 2014

Two over-thirty social misfits have nothing better to do than spend their time behind a coffee shop in a small town in Vermont. Meet KJ and Jasper who spend their aimless days discussing women and Bukowski between singing an original song or two. Evan (a high school loner who works at the coffee shop) is ordered to get rid of them but instead, KJ and Jasper decide to teach him all the life lessons that they have learned. Termed a modern “Waiting For Godot”, this Obie Award winner for Best New American Play examines a lost generation’s take on art, friendship, loss and finding one’s way in a shifting society.

Directed by Nathan Motta (Dobama Theater Artistic Director) and stars Joseph Dunn, Matt O’Shea and Alexander V. Thompson*.

*Members of Actors Equity Association

Tickets are $26 regular, $24 senior for Fridays and Saturdays, $21 regular, $19 senior for Thursdays and Sundays. Preview tickets for December 5 are $10. Student tickets are $10 (full-time, under 25 with a valid ID). Tickets are available by calling the Dobama box office at (216) 932-3396, or by visiting www.dobama.org.

RUSH tickets, available to patrons 21 & younger, are $5. A limited quantity will be sold nightly no earlier than five minutes before curtain time and will be based on seat availability.

On Sunday, January 26, Dobama offers tickets on a “pay-as-you-can“ basis. In an effort to remove economic barriers and to make Dobama’s productions accessible to everyone, the first Sunday of every production is “pay-as-you-can“, asking patrons simply to pay what they can afford.

Show dates and times:

Thursday, January 23
7:30 p.m. - Preview, All tickets $10

Friday, January 24
8:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 25
8:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 26
7:30 p.m. - Pay-as-You-Can Performance

Thursday, January 30
7:30 p.m.

Friday, January 31
8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 1
8:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 2
2:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 6
7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 7
8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 8
8:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 9
2:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 13
7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 14
8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 15
8:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 16
2:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 20
7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 21
8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 22
8:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 23
2:30 p.m.

Dobama Theatre is generously supported by many individual donors, and the following foundations and government agencies: The Cleveland Foundation, Cuyahoga Arts and Culture, The Cyrus Eaton Foundation, The George Gund Foundation, The Milton and Tamar Maltz Family Foundation, The Harry K. and Emma R. Fox Charitable Foundation, The David & Inez Myers Foundation, The Ohio Arts Council, and Roe Green Foundation. Dobama Theatre is generously funded by Cuyahoga County residents through Cuyahoga Arts and Culture. The Ohio Arts Council helped fund this organization with state tax dollars to encourage economic growth, educational excellence and cultural enrichment for all Ohioans.

Dobama Theatre’s mission is to premiere the best contemporary plays by established and emerging playwrights in professional productions of the highest quality. Through educational and outreach programming, Dobama Theatre nurtures the development of theatre artists and builds new audiences for the arts while provoking an examination of our contemporary world.