Skip to main content

See also:

Dillon Ward conquers the Rookies’ Class

Dillon Ward wins the National Lacrosse Rookie of the Year
Dillon Ward wins the National Lacrosse Rookie of the Year
John DiTirro

Who's that defending the Mammoth goal?

Dillon Ward – that’s who.

Who’s that keeping the offense out?

Dillon Ward – that’s who.

Who’s that helping Denver win those games?

Dillon Ward – that’s who.

Dillon Ward has been awarded the honor of being named the National Lacrosse League Rookie of the Year. And this came with some pretty prestigious players across the league. Edmonton had Robert Church. Philadelphia Wings had rookie Garrett Thul who had an amazing season putting up 33 points with 21 goals and 12 assits. The always tough Vancouver Stealth had Tyler Digby. Tyler was drafted by the Canadian Football League as well as the Vancouver Stealth. Logan Schuss had 7 points against Colorado this year – 4 goals and 3 assists. Logan Schuss set a Minnesota Swarm season record with 36 goals in a season by a rookie. These players are all great and should be respected by many which makes this a much more studious award. Dillon Ward had the class to out play, keep his cool in the net when the Colorado Mammoth were down and make some breathtaking saves.

With the judges scoring in the following manner, Dillon Ward came out on top. But it was a close race. The point system looked like this. A first-place vote equaled 5 points, a second-place vote equaled 4 points and third-place equaled 3 points.

Dillon Ward – 32 points (2 first place votes)
Karsen Leung (Calgary) – 27 points (2 first place votes)
Logan Schuss (Minnesota) – 25 points (3 first-place votes)
Robert Church (Edmonton) – 12 points (1 first-place vote)

Congratulations Dillon Ward on a much deserved award. With the talent that is always rising above and the athleticism that players bring to the field, Dillon you were an astonishing player in protecting the net. You put up a hard fought battle and deserved this just reward.