Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Devon Franklin Trumpet Awards' honoree: Faith it to Hollywood

The Trumpet Awards Foundation honored several outstanding individuals in the African American community Sunday evening, including pastor, motivational speaker, author and entertainment executive Devon Franklin. Since 1993, Xernona Clayton, founder, president and CEO of the Trumpet Awards Foundation, has been instrumental in bringing to the forefront the accomplishments and contributions of African Americans. TVOne hosted the lavish event living up to it's mantra 'Where Black Life Unfolds".

Trumpet Awards Honorees 2014
Photo courtesy of Trumpet Awards Foundation
Trumpet Awards Honorees 2014 Photo courtesy of Trumpet Awards Foundation
Trumpet Awards, Trumpet Awards Foundation, Xernona Clayton
Trumpet Awards Photo courtesy of Trumpet Awards Foundation
Trumpet Awards, Xernona Clayton, tvOne

Ms. Clayton, out of her passion, created the awards show in conjunction with her foundation to highlight and uplift African Americans. Her passion developed through her civil rights work with Dr. Martin Luther King and Coretta Scott King. She traveled with Mrs. King on several occasions nationwide. For her many accomplishments and endeavors, Xernona Clayton has been awarded numerous awards. Giving back to the community via The Xernona Clayton Scholarship, she sponsors, all expenses paid, a high school student to study abroad in Europe for one year as an exchange student. Ms. Clayton has dedicated her life to service and inspiring others to do the same.

Among the many honorees, Devon Franklin accepted the Entertainment Award for his rise to Hollywood and his endeavors to bring more exposure to African Americans in the entertainment industry. Franklin credits his faith as his catalyst. Believing that through faith, regardless of circumstances, an individual can fulfill their purpose. Alfre Woodard, Charles J. Ogletree Jr., Cheryl and Deryl McKissack, the Bronner Brothers family, Williams' Sisters, Steve Pemberton, Honorable Kamala Harris, Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff were also honored for their accomplishments.

Report this ad