Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Details are revealed about The Horrors' new album 'Luminous'

See also

Inspired by luminaries as eclectic as The Beatles, Brian Eno, and J Dilla, The Horrors' fourth album Luminous will be released May 6 on indie label XL Recordings. Luminous took over 15 months to record in East London, and was produced by Craig Silvey, who has also worked with the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire, and The National.

The Horrors' last album, 2011's Skying, charted at number five on the UK Albums Chart. Receiving accolades from publications such as NME, BBC, and Q, Skying represented a commercial breakthrough for the group that has been together for almost ten years.

Just today the first single "I See You" made its radio debut on Southern California station KCRW's Morning Becomes Eclectic, and its over seven minutes of synth goodness is already available for listening pleasure in the form of a lyric video on Youtube.

Singer Faris Badwan described the songwriting aspect as "the record I'm happiest with." Bassist Rhys Webb commented that they "wanted to make music you can dance to- music that elevates." Unlike the darker material The Horrors has become synonymous with, the new record has a much more positive, uplifting outlook, and focuses on an electronic element more so than a guitar-heavy approach.

For those that pre-order Luminous on iTunes, an instant download of "I See You" will be available.

Connect with Alternative Music Examiner on Facebook!


Today's top buzz...

  • Backstreet Boys
    The Backstreet Boys have canceled several upcoming Israel shows, citing safety concerns
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    The NFL is considering adding a stadium to Los Angeles, but is it a good idea?
    NFL Buzz
  • Hulk Hogan
    Hulk Hogan and Steve Austin are on board for this year's WWE SummerSlam
    WWE News
  • Paul McCartney
    Get an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck for a recent performance
    20 Photos
  • Oscar contenders
    Oscar season is about to begin as fall festivals announce films
    9 Photos
  • Sammy Hagar
    Sammy Hagar is taking fans on a raucous history of rock on the road
    20 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Maggie Herron infuses warmth in follow-up album
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • 'You Blue It' by You Blew It!
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Susan Ruth Playing Flute
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>