Skip to main content
  1. Tech
  2. Games
  3. Consoles

‘Destiny’ enemy types and classes revealed, complete details

See also

Bungie’s Destiny has the gaming world’s attention as its spring 2014 release date inches ever closer. On Dec. 3, it was revealed that Destiny would grace the upcoming issue of GameInformer and new information would be shared. Luckily, the wait for new details about Destiny wasn’t long as we have some new information about the game’s enemy types courtesy of a member of the game forums.

According to the forum post, the latest of issue of GameInformer exposes many of Destiny’s enemy types and foes. In total, four of Destiny’s enemy types have been revealed as they are the Fallen, Cabal, Vex, and Hives. Find details on each enemy and their inner classes below:

The Fallen are described to be a race of space pirates. All are descendants of honorable species of nobility, but they are now an aggressive and nomadic group. Their honor may be gone, but they each wear unique sigils indicating their respective house. When shot, souls burst from their heads.

The Cabal is an industrious, militaristic and warmongering group – said to be the ‘Rome of Space’. With several class of soldier types, the Cabal are prepared for any form of battle. Within the Cabal army are Legionnaries – frontline grunts, Centurions – more aggressive and equipped with jet packs to navigate the battlefield, Gladiators – big, strong foes armed with Gatling guns, Psions – small Cabals that pilot ships.

Vex are rumored to have used warp gates to travel through time and space. They are described as robotic with traces of organic matter. Certain types of Vex are more humanoid than others; meanwhile others have animalistic qualities like claw-like hands. Unlike other enemy types, headshots will not inflict much damage to a Vex. Instead, players should focus on their abdominal power cores. There are five types of Vex: Goblins, Hobgoblins, Minotaur, Hydras – three headed segmented machine that glides in the air and attacks with turrets attached to each segment, and Harpies.

The last Destiny enemy type revealed is the Hives. They are an ancient race and there are five classes of them to encounter. The Thralls, Troopers – main soldier types for battle, Knights – equipped with cleavers, Wizards – fly overhead and cast spells, and Ogres – gigantic foes that fire massive energy beams.

Clearly, enemy diversity is well represented in Destiny. There is still much to learn about Destiny, but we should hear more over the weekend during Spike TV’s VGX.

Destiny is scheduled for a spring 2014 release on PS4, Xbox One, PC, Xbox 360, and PS3.


Don't Miss

  • Massive
    Ubisoft Massive exclusive: 'The Division', PS4 & Xbox One, Activision to Ubisoft & more
    Games Exclusive
  • iPhone
    Get your wallet ready: The next iPhone could cost $100 more than your last one
    Tech Buzz
  • Civ
    Need to catch up on 'Sid Meier's Civilization'? Here is everything you need to know
    Games Feature
  • Google Glass
    See how Google Glass is letting sick kids go to the zoo without leaving the hospital
    Tech News
  • Upcoming
    These are 2014's biggest PS4, Xbox One and Wii U games
    Games Feature
  • Google
    Google has filed for a patent to develop contact lenses capable of taking photos

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!