Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Demi Lovato is a nominee and presenter at 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards

Demi Lovato
Demi Lovato
Getty Images

Demi Lovato is set to make an appearance as a presenter at the first annual iHeartRadio Music Awards, which will take place at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on May 1, 2014. NBC will telecast the three-hour show (which is presented by Clear Channel Entertainment) on May 1 at 8 p.m. EDT/PDT. NBC and the iHeartRadio Music Awards made the announcement on April 21, 2014.

In addition, Lovato received a nomination for Best Fan Army for her group of devoted fans called Lovatics. The other nominees in the category are Ariana Grande's Arianators, Lady Gaga's Little Monsters, Austin Mahone's Mahomies, Rihanna's Rihanna Navy and Taylor Swift's Swifties.

Noticeably absent from the list of nominees is One Direction, the world's biggest-selling act to emerge from "The X Factor." One Direction (whose fans are called Directioners) was completely snubbed and did not get any nominations at the 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards. Through online voting, the public was allowed to vote for the finalists in the awards show's categories.

According to an iHeartRadio Music Awards press release: "The iHeartRadio Music Awards is taking a groundbreaking approach to the award show format, offering viewers live performances, storytelling and an intimate atmosphere. In addition to performances at the glamorous-tabled show at the Shrine, the event will also feature artists playing the stages of some of Los Angeles’ most iconic venues from The Roxy to the Hotel Café. The event will highlight the music world’s top stars in taking over Los Angeles telling viewers their 'L.A. story' — what brought them to and through the City of Angels and how it helped make their careers."

"Blake Shelton, Drake, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Pitbull, Shakira and Thirty Seconds to Mars. Other performers from the telecast include Ariana Grande, Luke Bryan, Arcade Fire and Ed Sheeran. Those set to make appearances include Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Steven Tyler, Imagine Dragons, Chris Martin, Lorde, Lovato and more."

Lovato was a judge on "The X Factor" U.S. in 2012 and 2013. In December 2013, she quit the show at the end of the show's third season because she said she wanted to focus on her music career. Fox cancelled "The X Factor" U.S. in February 2014.

Lovato's "Neon Lights" North American tour took place in February and March 2014. The opening acts were "X Factor" alumni Fifth Harmony (on all tour dates), Little Mix (on select tour dates) and Cher Lloyd (on select tour dates).

Frankly Chat and Clear Channel co-hosted "iHeartRadio Live With Demi Lovato" at the iHeartRadio Theater in Burbank, Calif., on April 14, 2014.

Here are the nominees for the 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards:

Artist of the Year
Imagine Dragons
Justin Timberlake
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Maroon 5

Song of the Year
“Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake featuring Majid Jordan
“Mirrors” – Justin Timberlake
“Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons
“Stay” – Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko
“The Monster” – Eminem featuring Rihanna

Best Collaboration
“Holy Grail” – Jay-Z featuring Justin Timberlake
“Stay” – Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko
“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake featuring Jay-Z
“The Monster” – Eminem featuring Rihanna
“Timber” – Pitbull featuring Kesha

Best New Artist
Florida Georgia Line
Icona Pop
Imagine Dragons
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Country Song of the Year
“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton
“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift
“It Goes Like This” – Thomas Rhett
“Mine Would Be You” – Blake Shelton
“That’s My Kind of Night” – Luke Bryan

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year
“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke featuring T.I. & Pharrell
“Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake featuring Majid Jordan
“Holy Grail” – Jay-Z featuring Justin Timberlake
“Pour It Up” – Rihanna
“Started From the Bottom” – Drake

EDM Song of the Year
“Get Lucky” – Daft Punk featuring Pharrell
“Stay the Night” – Zedd featuring Hayley Williams
“Summertime Sadness” – Lana Del Rey featuring Cedric Gervais
“Sweet Nothing” – Calvin Harris featuring Florence Welch
“Wake Me Up” – Avicii

Alternative Rock Song of the Year
“Demons” – Imagine Dragons
“Do I Wanna Know?” – Arctic Monkeys
“Pompeii” – Bastille
“Royals” – Lorde
“Safe and Sound” – Capital Cities

Best Lyrics
“Wake Me Up” – Avicii (vocals by Aloe Blacc)
“I Love It” – Icona Pop featuring Charli XCX
“Say Something” – A Great Big World
“Same Love” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
“Wrecking Ball” – Miley Cyrus

Best Fan Army
Arianators – Ariana Grande
Little Monsters – Lady Gaga
Lovatics – Demi Lovato
Mahomies – Austin Mahone
Rihanna Navy – Rihanna
Swifties – Taylor Swift

Report this ad