Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Del Bosque Announces Spain 30-Man List

The defending world champions have announced their 30-man list
Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images

Spain coach Vicente del Bosque announced his list on Tuesday and there were no surprises to it, although there were a few individuals of notice that were called up and will probably be left out of the final 23-man roster when it will be announced after the Champions League final in Lisbon.

The two absences of note compared to the 2010 World Cup- winning side are Víctor Valdés and Álvaro Arbeloa. Valdés suffered an ACL tear back in March and will miss the World Cup while Arbeloa has seen his relationship strained with national team heavyweights Iker Casillas as well as Sergio Ramos and that could be the main reason why he was left off the squad.

There are eight new faces to the national team compared to the 2010 side- David De Gea, Dani Carvajal, César Azpilicueta, Ander Iturraspe, Alberto Moreno, Koke, Thiago Alcántara and Diego Costa.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David De Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: César Azpilicueta (Chelsea-ENG), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Alberto Moreno (Sevilla), Javi Martínez (Bayern Munich-GER), Raúl Albiol (Napoli-ITA), Juanfran Torres (Atlético Madrid), Daniel Carvajal (Real Madrid),

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Koke Resurrección (Atlético Madrid), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Club), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern Munich-GER), Pedro Rodríguez (Barcelona), Jesús Navas (Manchester City-ENG), David Silva (Manchester City-ENG), Cesc Fábregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United-ENG), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal-ENG), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona).

Forwards: Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid-ESP), David Villa (Atlético Madrid-ESP), Fernando Torres (Chelsea-ENG), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City-ENG), Fernando Llorente (Juventus-ITA)

Report this ad