Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Debbie Reynolds to get SAG Lifetime Achievement Award

According to Variety and the Chicago Tribune today, Aug. 18, Debbie Reynolds was announced to get the SAG Lifetime Achievement Award. The annual SAG Awards will be airing on TNT and TBS on Jan. 25, 2015. She's being honored for her professional and humanitarian achievements. The award is the highest accolade that one can get in the union, so this is big news for her and her own career.

The classic actress will be the 51st recipient of the SAG Lifetime Achievement Award. At last year's SAG Awards actress Rita Moreno was awarded the Lifetime award. The first person to received this achievement was actor Eddie Cantor in 1962.

Debbie Reynolds has been in over 50 movies during her lifetime, she also has done TV work, and has worked on the Stage. One of her first roles was in 1950, that was in the musical, "The Daughter of Rosie O'Grady." Two years later in 1952, she starred in the big musical hit "Singin' in the Rain," with Gene Kelly," and since then she starred in the movies, "How the West Was Won," "The Unsinkable Molly Brown," "Tammy and the Bachelor," "Susan Slept Here," and recently in last year's HBO TV movie, "Behind the Candelabra."

Debbie was born in 1932 in El Paso, TX. Reynolds with her first husband Eddie Fisher had two kids, actress Carrie Fisher and producer Tom Fisher.

Ken Howard is the president of SAG-AFTRA. He made comments that he was very thrilled that Reynolds was being presented with the award and he congratulated her. Fans of hers feel the same way about this big news.

Once again the 21st Annual Sag Awards will be airing on Jan. 25, 2015 on the channels TNT and TBS. The awards are presented at the Shrine Exhibition Center in Los Angeles.

Report this ad