Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

DeBartolo Jr., Haley come up short in the 2014 Hall of Fame class

Charles Haley
Photo by Tom Hauck/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced seven players who will be inducted for the class of 2014. Former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo and former player LB Charles Haley came up short.

This is the third straight year that DeBartolo has been named a finalist before not voted in. There is a 46 person committee who votes and 80 percet (37 votes) are needed in order to be inducted. Haley made the initial cut down to 10 people, but DeBartolo's chances of making the Hall of Fame in 2014 were cut off again.

Among the 2014 class, Oakland Raiders P Ray Guy becomes the first punter inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Here is the full list of inductees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2014:

-LB Derrick Brooks - Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1995-2008

-P Ray Guy* - Los Angeles / Oakland Raiders from 1973-1986

-OT Walter Jones - Seattle Seahawks from 1997-2009

-WR Andre Reed - Buffalo Bills from 1985-1999; Washington Redskins in 2000

-CB/S Aeneas Williams - Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals from 1991-2000; St. Louis Rams from 2001-2004

-DE Michael Strahan - New York Giants from 1993-2007

-DE Claude Humphrey* - Atlanta Falcons from 1968-1974 and 1976-1978; Philadelphia Eagles from 1979-1981

*Denotes Senior Nominees

Report this ad