Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

DeBartolo and Haley named finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2014

Eddie DeBartolo
Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the 15 finalists who could be inducted into the Hall of Fame for the class of 2014. From the 49ers, former owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. and DE/LB Charles Haley were part of the list of finalists.

Eddie DeBartolo Jr. has been named a finalist for the third consecutive year. He owned the team from 1979-2000 and oversaw five Super Bowl victories. He has gained support from former players including Jerry Rice, Fred Dean and Joe Montana.

Haley is considered to be one the greatest pass rushers of all time. He was on the 49ers from 1986-1991 and 1998-1999. The defensive end was a five-time Super Bowl champion which included two of them (Super Bowls XXIII and XXIV) with the 49ers. He won three Super Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys as he was on the team from 1992-1996. Haley was an All-Pro selection with the 49ers in 1990 and with the Cowboys in 1994.

LB/DL Kevin Greene was also named a finalist as he spent the 1997 season with the 49ers. He was a three-time All-Pro selection who also played for the Los Angeles Rams, Pittsburgh Steelers and Carolina Panthers.

Semifinalist Rogers Craig failed to make the cut.

The Hall's selection committee will meet on Saturday, February 1st to announce those who will be inducted.

Here is the full list of Hall of Fame finalists:

-K Morten Anderson - New Orleans Saints from 1982-1994; Atlanta Falcons from 1995-2000 and 2006-2007; New York Giants in 2001; Kansas City Chiefs from 2002-2003; Minnesota Vikings in 2004

-Owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. - San Francisco 49ers from 1979-2000

-RB Jerome Bettis - Los Angeles / St. Louis Rams from 1993-1995; Pittsburgh Steelers from 1996-2005

-LB Derrick Brooks - Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1995-2008

-WR Tim Brown - Los Angeles / Oakland Raiders from 1988-2003

-Head Coach Tony Dungy - Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1996-2001; Indianapolis Colts from 2002-2008

-DL/LB Kevin Greene - Los Angeles Rams from 1985-1992; Pittsburgh Steelers from 1993-1995; Carolina Panthers in 1996 and from 1998-99; San Francisco 49ers in 1997

-WR Marvin Harrison - Indianapolis Colts from 1996-2008

-P Ray Guy* - Los Angeles / Oakland Raiders from 1973-1986

-DE Claude Humphrey* - Atlanta Falcons from 1968-1974 and 1976-1978; Philadelphia Eagles from 1979-1981

-OT Walter Jones - Seattle Seahawks from 1997-2009

-S John Lynch - Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1993-2003; Denver Broncos from 2004-2007

-WR Andre Reed - Buffalo Bills from 1985-1999; Washington Redskins in 2000

-G Will Shields - Kansas City Chiefs from 1993-2006

-DE Michael Strahan - New York Giants from 1993-2007

-CB/S Aeneas Williams - Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals from 1991-2000; St. Louis Rams from 2001-2004

*Denotes Senior Nominees

Report this ad