It is that time of year again, when dog owners in Ohio and some other states are required to register their dogs. Besides being illegal to not obtain a license, there are many practical reasons for buying a yearly dog license.
One reason is that it protects your dog. A dog wearing a license tag can be easily identified if he should escape the yard. A missing dog can end up at a kill shelter, and some shelters may immediately euthanize unlicensed dogs picked up as strays. Which is why it is so important to microchip your companion animal as well. Also, Ohio law allows Animal Control Officers to impound dogs not wearing a license, even if the dog is in the owner's yard.
Another good reason for buying a yearly dog license is that the fee will help animals at your local shelter. When a license is purchased, the shelter uses that fee to help care for the animals there, and allows animal control to bring in more dogs off the streets.
Under Ohio Revised Code 955.01, licenses need to be renewed between December 1 through January 31 of each year, or within thirty days after acquiring a new dog. Puppies must be licensed by the time they are three months old. Owners of dogs that have not been spayed or neutered may have to pay higher registration fees, unless a licensed veterinarian submits a reason why the dog should not be spayed or neutered, such as due to age or medical condition.
Although the fee may vary by county, in Richland County, the fee is $16.00 per dog or $80.00 per kennel. After the deadline, the penalty of an additional $16.00 per dog or $80.00 per kennel will be added, and the owner may receive a $150 citation.
New for 2014, some Ohio counties now allow the option of purchasing either a one-year license, a three-year license, or a permanent, non-refundable dog license.
Most cities or counties will mail out a form that can be filled out and sent back, and some licenses can be renewed online. Those who have not received a form in the mail yet, or have a new dog, should see if their county or city offers renewal online, or may go to their dog shelter or other licensing locations. In Richland County, dog licenses may be obtained at:
To receive my future articles on other animal-related issues, please click on “Subscribe” below the photo. There is no cost to subscribe. You can also follow the Mansfield Animal Advocacy Examiner on Facebook.