Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Darrell Wallace Jr. rules Eldora dirt

Darrell Wallace Jr.
Darrell Wallace Jr.
Getty Images for NASCAR

Darrell Wallace Jr. took command of the 1-800-CAR-CASH Mudsummer Classic NASCAR Camping World Truck Series dirt race at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, on Wednesday night in the final 20 laps of the first of three segments that made up the 150-lap race and led most of the remaining distance to claim his second win of the season. The victory continued Kyle Busch Motorsports and Toyota dominance of Truck Series competition.

"Man, this Toyota Tundra was on a rail tonight," Wallace said. "From the drop of the green flag, it was bad ass."

Wallace's KBM teammate, Erik Jones, was fastest in qualifying earlier in the day and won the first of five heat races. Jones then went on to lead the first 24 laps of the feature race before losing the lead to Jeb Burton and soon after spinning because of a right-rear tire issue.

Burton and Ron Hornaday then each led laps before Wallace took the lead. Wallace was scored as the race leader at the conclusion of both the first and second segments. Early on in the third segment, Kyle Larson took over second and battled Wallace hard for the lead.

"For some reason, I had a vision that he (Larson) was going to stink up the show on the last lap," Wallace said.

Larson scraped the wall several times in his pursuit of the top spot and was finally able to take the lead just before a caution around lap 130. But when the race restarted, Wallace retook the position and led the remaining 18 laps of the race. Larson bounced off the wall a few more times and eventually wound up hitting it hard enough to fall off the pace and drop outside the top-10 in the final four laps.

"I hit the wall way too many time. I hit it pretty hard on that last restart," Larson said. "I feel really stupid. It sucks to lose that way."

With Larson falling out of contention in the closing laps, Wallace drove away to the win. Ron Hornaday finished second, Ryan Blaney was third, Ken Schrader was fourth, and Ty Dillon was fifth. John Hunter Nemechek finished sixth, followed by the trio of ThorSport Racing drivers -- Burton, Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton -- in seventh through ninth. Austin Dillon rounded out the top-10.

"We're turning it around, and I'm having a blast," Hornaday said. "What a fun, what a blast."

Report this ad