Skip to main content

See also:

'Dark Souls 2' DLC release date, pricing and more details revealed

'Dark Souls 2'
'Dark Souls 2'
Photo courtesy of Bandai Namco Games, used with permission

The first details have been announced in regards to the upcoming DLC packs for the recently-released, "Dark Souls 2." According to a report from Kotaku on June 4, Bandai Namco Games and From Software have confirmed that new downloadable expansions are coming out for the open-world action role-playing game after all. Takeshi Miyazoe, the producer of the project, previously stated that the development team was not considering adding any DLC.

However, it appears that the plans may have changed. "The Lost Crowns" trilogy is coming to the PC, PS3 and Xbox 360 versions of "Dark Souls 2." The packs have a price tag of $9.99 each although PC players can purchase a season pass containing all three expansions with a small discount. The first release, "Crown of the Sunken King," is coming out on July 22 in North America. Players will be able to explore the various pyramids located in a big underground cavern in order to find the crowns owned by Drangleic's King Vendrick.

The rest of the trilogy will come out on a monthly basis. The "Crown of the Old Iron King" DLC is set to launch on Aug. 26 while the "Crown of the Ivory King" expansion has an official release date of Sept. 24. To compare, the original "Dark Souls" only got one DLC pack with the release of "Artorias of the Abyss." A photo featuring the sequel from the publisher's Twitter page can be seen near the top of this article.

"Dark Souls 2" was released on different dates on consoles when compared to computers. The software product was first made available on the PS3 and Xbox 360 systems on March 11 before coming out for the PC on April 24. Although Takeshi Miyazoe previously expressed some interests with working on the next-generation consoles, the open-world action role-playing game won't be coming to the PS4 and Xbox One. Instead, From Software is rumored to be working with Sony Computer Entertainment on the tentatively-titled, "Project Beast."