We think you're near Los Angeles

Currently in Los Angeles

Location: Los Angeles Current temperature: 60°F: Current condition: Clear See Extended Forecast

DailyNews7.com scam targets Ohioans with 'Home Income Profit System' that charges $139.95 plus

google home income,dailynews7,home income profit system

Scam targets people with promise of online money at DailyNews7.com

One of the most popular links on Alexa right now leads to a scam site called Daily News7.

That means the scammers behind the website are no doubt throwing lots of advertising dollars toward this URL:

http://www.dailynews7.com/jobs/internet-aiding-economy.php

On that site, they claim that someone named "has written a report about only 350 positions avaiable for folks to make money online.

They claim if you pay only some $2.29 "shipping" cost to get some fake Home Income System that you'll learn to make money online.

Trouble is, it's all a big scam.

The Home Income System leads to this website:

https://www.internetprofitsuccesssystem.com/pages/827/Default.aspx?itm=R00003&s1=104928&s2=V-1&s3=&clickid=04_12431914_8938f4be-48fd-461c-9a7b-98f63a313a8b&vn=000108528

And the fine print of the "Internet Cash System" that is listed on the Terms and Conditions that they are required to list on this page...

https://www.internetprofitsuccesssystem.com/TC/3/tc1.htm

...show you the real charges they are scamming consumers out of:

When you submit your order, you agree to pay the shipping and handling fee of $2.97 for your Road Map to Success and a $39.95 activation fee unless waived; please allow up to two weeks for delivery. After your 3-day trial period, you will be charged a ONE TIME fee of $139.95 for the product that will not be billed again for access to all of the features above. Thereafter, a $4.95 fee will serve as a monthly website hosting and maintenance fee until cancelled.

And it's not just Ohioans who they are trying to scam -- but the scammers are smart enough to look at users IP addresses to determine where they live, and then make it seem like the ad is tailored just to them.

Unfortunately this scam is pretty popular.

But hopefully people are getting smarter about researching it first and not giving up their credit or debit card numbers. If they do, however, consumers can report them as fradulent transactions.

Advertisement

, Cleveland Pop Culture Examiner

Paula Neal Mooney is a Cleveland-area journalist whose writing has appeared in national magazines like Writer's Digest. An online writer since 2005, she can be reached at PaulaNealMooney.com.

Comments

  • Oce 2 years ago

    I'm so glad that I checked out that site before I went against my better judgment. I checked the site with Better Business Bureaus (wwwbbborg) and they couldn't find it, I checked Google and it took me to a site called Thats Nonsense (wwwthatsnonsensecom) and it even said that the Home Income thing was bull. There's another one just like this that I'm going to check next (worklikescottcom/ns.php?from=m-1). A friend of my aunt's is actually working for Google and is making money. She says that she found out about the place through one of the sites that looked just like the proven scam site as well as the other I'm checking out next. I was really hoping that one of them was true, but I now I won’t even hold my breath. That 3-day trial thing should make people wry in the first place, but then again people don’t always read those Terms of Use and Privacy Policy things. Thanks for this.

  • Anonymous 1 year ago

    What does your aunt's friend do for Google? I would really like to learn to make money on-line, but don't want to be taken advantage of. I don't expect to get rich, but need extra money like everyone else. If you know what your aunt's friend does, maybe I could try that. Thanks.

  • 4chan 2 years ago

    This site is a fail boat from China; they have targeted all 50 states as a massive harvesting site.

    If you want to really truely report this site, starting with Microsoft is a start, but there's nothing wrong with contacting the FBI, it's what they get paid to do.

  • Chase 2 years ago

    Yes I came across this site, at what appeared to be at first awesome, turned into a clever scam. Having comments, yet stating the comments are closed. As well as all links (traffic,sports,weather) all lead to the same site. This guy was smart

  • Delilah 2 years ago

    I ordered this so-called HomeIncome deal and gave my debit card number to pay for the shipping and they were gonna send me a start-up kit. Guess what? Never got a kit and they took my money and empty my account, instead of just the $1.95, they claimed that you have to pay. It turns out the company was bogus and no such company, but they stole my money and I never got it back. Several other people had their money stolen and wrote to Better Business Bureau and complain. Only thing is, there was no such company. You can't file a complaint on a company that doesn't exist. Funny thing about it is... they used google's name as an affiliate. Even on the ad, it said, send for your google start-up kit. All these so called In Home Businesses, BOGUS and a bunch of SCAMS!!!

  • Erik 2 years ago

    Anyone who reads through the page with the offer should know it's bogus. Even the comments sound ridiculously staged. I'm surprised they didn't have a cheesey video of people saving money like on infomercials.

  • meme 2 years ago

    Too good to be true. The presentation of the website is boggus, plus on every link you click will redirect you to the same place. That from there is something suspicious. Anyway, it is so bad that deceiving people like that take advantage of others. I thank everyone who posted out here so we can investigate further before committing a terrible mistake, and for all I am sorry for what the people who got swindle.

  • Teresa 2 years ago

    I also got scammed ,I signed up for dailynews7.com work at home posting links on line and was suppose to receive a kit they said Was also suppose to call me in 24 hours never called.3to5 days, emailed me and said it was on the way some guy named Glynn Bias.I never received anything.suppose to call me in 24 hours, never called. I think the Better Bussiness Bureau or somebody needs to do something about scammers on the websites taking peoples money and shut these websites down.

  • Cindy 2 years ago

    Im so glad someone has been able to see the site for what it was, when I knew it was pretty fishy when I went to the different tabs and it would take me to a sponsorsip site. then i googled "anthony cataldo" and this pulled up! so thank you!

  • Mike 2 years ago

    They are using IP GeoTargeting so the state referenced in the page header, the "article" headline and the first paragraph will always match the actual location of the reader. Great marketing concept and awesome copy editing though. It's unfortunate that intelligent internet marketers like this use their skills to deceive and scam when so many legitimate companies and organizations desperately need the services that legitimate internet marketers offer.

    They are sloppy though. Whenever I come across one of these well done but deceptive marketing scams I reverse engineer what it is that they are doing. If you go to the main url for their site (just dailynews7DOTcom) all you get is a blank page with one word...a dead giveaway.

  • babyface 2 years ago

    do a chargeback with your credit card. You should get your money back that way.

  • Nolo 1 year ago

    I'm from Puerto Rico and I just report it to the FBI. There are so many wrongs in the AD that it makes me sick. Thanks for posting information for people to make better choices..

  • pikklz 1 year ago

    b&#tards got me for $20 signup.i must say it was quite convincing.it wasnt until i found the website id bought selling the product for 49.95 and then another site same name selling it for 19.95.a%$holes

  • nazri 1 year ago

    I paid them but luckily tru paypal, you can easily dispute to force them to return you money. Now I get back my money and report them as scam to clickbank and paypal. Sonner or later for sure get ban..

  • Anonymous 1 year ago

    They are definitely convincing thieves!! Thank you for this site because I almost made a huge mistake.

  • Londoner 11 months ago

    Thank you ,guys, so much! They are here in UK already!

Add a new comment

Join the conversation! Log in here or create a new account if you've never registered before.

Got something to say?

Examiner.com is looking for writers, photographers, and videographers to join the fastest growing group of local insiders. If you are interested in growing your online rep apply to be an Examiner today!

Don't miss...