Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Counting Crows premiere new song 'Palisades Park'

See also

Counting Crows are back with a new single, "Palisades Park," off forthcoming album, "Somewhere Under Wonderland," due out Sept.2. The record is the first of new music for the band in six years since releasing fifth studio album, "Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings," in 2008. A live album and video by Counting Crows, "August and Everything After: Live At Town Hall," came out in 2011 and a compilation of cover songs of music from the 1960s through to the 2010s titled, "Underwater Sunshine," was released in 2012.

Following "Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings" frontman, Adam Durtiz, needed a break from himself and maybe his crazy hair, saying in an interview with The Baltimore Sun, “I got kind of sick of myself at that point,” Duritz said. “I got tired of just emptying [my] guts onto the page every few years for people. I think I needed a break from it.” So the artist switched his creative outlet to focus on other songwriters and songs, saying about his experience recording "Underwater Sunshine," that playing other artists' songs "Exercises your brain in so many different ways." In 2008, Durtiz revealed to Men's Health magazine that he suffers from "a form of dissociative disorder that makes the world seem like it's not real, as if things are not taking place." The 49-year-old has learned that his personal limitations excel through his music.

"Palisades Park" is 8 1/2 minutes long and Durtiz revealed it was one of the easiest tracks on the album to record. Check out the short form film/music video directed by Bill Fishman here. You can catch the reenergized Counting Crows touring festivals and concert venues this summer where the band has said they will be previewing some new songs.


Today's top buzz...

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    Pat Bowlen steps down as Broncos owner following Alzheimer's diagnosis
    NFL Buzz
  • Tina Fey
    See why Tina Fey is possibly the most popular woman in comedy at the moment
    Today's Buzz
  • Mick Jagger
    Mick Jagger promotes 'Get On Up' in New York, including Apollo Theater premiere
    20 Photos
  • Boyhood
    The new film 'Boyhood' chronicles twelve years of one boy's life
    19 Photos
  • Buffy
    We're counting down ten of the finest episodes of ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’
    7 Photos