Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Consonant and dissonant intervals

See also

We class "unison, octave, perfect fifth, perfect foruth, major and minor third, and major and minor sixth" intervals as "consonant" intervals. All others ("seconds, sevenths, ninths, elevenths, and thirteenths, and all augmented and diminished intervals - are dissonant"(Prout, p. 10). We have as subclasses of the consonant intervals the perfect and imperfect consonances.

Perfect consonances - these consist of the "unison, octave, perfect fourth, and perfect fifth"(Prout, p. 10). Any alteration of either note by an accidental (which will raise or lower it a chromatic semitone) causes the perfect consonance to become dissonant. However, we can change a major 3rd into a minor 6th or a minor 6th into a major third and preserve its consonance.

Imperfect consonances - These consist of "the major and minor thirds and major and minor sixths"(Prout, p. 10).

Prout, Ebenezer. (1889). Harmony, its Theory and Practice. London: Augener, LTD.


Today's top buzz...

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Italy's Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Tour de France
    Today's Buzz
  • Johnny Manziel
    Here's why there is no need for Jonny Manziel to apologize for his offseason partying
    NFL Buzz
  • Guys and Dolls
    Guys and Dolls at the PACE Center: Community theater at it's finest
    15 Photos
  • Cheap Trick
    Cheap Trick brings an explosive set of hits to Phoenix on their U.S. tour
    20 Photos
  • Most Wanted Man
    'A Most Wanted Man' shows Phillip Seymour Hoffman at his best
    14 Photos