Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Health & Fitness
  3. Yoga & Pilates

Community dedication to BKS Iyengar

See also

“Like rain, he touched all of us equally.” – Geeta Iyengar, daughter of BKS Iyengar

More Photos

Yoga students will gather across the United States Tuesday evening, Aug. 26, to perform a community dedication to honor BKS Iyengar, the yoga master who died Aug. 20, in Pune, India, at the age of 95.

At the Iyengar Yoga Institute of Los Angeles, Lisa Walford will lead students in the series of poses, which gives particular emphasis to tadasana, mountain pose.

Across the continent, thousands will gather at 5:30 p.m. Pacific time, 6:30 p.m. Mountain time, 7:30 p.m. Central time and 8:30 p.m. Eastern time.

The series will begin and end with three minutes of tadasana, also called sama shtiti, steady posture.

The commemoration, planned by the U.S. Iyengar association, will proceed in this fashion, giving full consideration to the time spent in tadasana, with other times varying according to practitioners:

–Tadasana, mountain pose – 3 minutes

–Uttanasana, intense stretch pose

–Adho mukha svanasana, downward facing dog pose

–Utthitha trikonasana, extended triangle, to the right and to the left

–Adho mukha svanasana

–Uttanasana

–Tadasana – 3 minutes

–Five minutes seated quietly.

The U.S. association asks that practitioners “hold Guruji in your hearts as you do this.”

Students are asked to give full attention to mountain pose, because, as cricket player Sachin Tendulkar recalls, Mr. Iyengar said: “It is essential to master the art of standing correctly. . . .When truly in tadasana, one feels light in body and the mind acquires agility.”

At the Los Angeles institute, students should arrive by 5:15 p.m. The celebration will run until 6 p.m. Light refreshments will be shared after the dedication.

Other group dedications are being set up across Southern California, from the Orange studio of Denise Thibault to the Riverside studio of Elizabeth Cohen and Mike Iasparro.

Individual dedications will occur both as solitary endeavors, as well as with fellow practitioners.

Erin Beardemphl of Riverside plans to practice the dedication with her two daughters, ages 5 and 3, who will never know BKS Iyengar, but will know his legacy from her studies of his art.

For more information: About the gathering in Orange, contact Denise by e-mail, matad@earthlink.net

Advertisement