Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Colley and Scrubb win 2014 BLG Awards

See also

According to the Canadian Interuniversity Sport website, two basketball players won the 2014 Borden Ladner Gervais Canadian student athletes of the year award at a ceremony at the Jack Singer Concert Hall in downtown Calgary on Monday evening. Justine Colley of the University of St. Mary's Huskies won the women's award and Philip Scrubb of the University of Carleton Ravens won the men's award.

Scrubb, from Richmond, British Columbia, led the Ravens to the 2014 Canadian Interuniversity Sport men's basketball championship title. On March 9 at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa, Scrubb had 20 points and a game high eight rebounds as the Ravens defeated the University of Ottawa Gee-Gees 79-67. Remarkably, it was the Ravens' tenth national championship in the last twelve years.

Scrubb also won the CIS award for the most outstanding men's basketball player for the third straight year according to the Canadian Press. He has also represented Canada at the 2011 Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico and the 2013 Summer Unversiade in Kazan, Russia.

Scrubb was also impressive in a game against the University of Wisconsin Badgers this season. Even though it was only exhibition, Scrubb had 30 points and 12 rebounds in a 95-82 win over Wisconsin on August 21. The win by the Ravens was sensational because the Badgers competed in the final four of March Madness this year.

Colley, from East Preston, Nova Scotia, was a tournament all-star at the 2014 CIS Women's Basketball Championship in Windsor, Ontario. Colley had 38 points in the semifinal as the University of St. Mary's Huskies beat the University of Saskatchewan Huskies 67-54. Unfortunately for Colley, her 20 points was not enough in the championship game as the University of Windsor Lancers defeated the University of St. Mary's 71-45.

This was the third time in four years that two athletes from the same sport won the award. In 2011 basketball players Jessica Clemencon of the University of Windsor and Tyson Hinz of the University of Carleton were recognized and in 2012 McGill hockey players Ann-Sophie Bettez and Marc-Andre Dorion were winners.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court