Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

‘Club 47’ folk documentary, with rare Bob Dylan audio, released on DVD, Blu-Ray

See also

The documentary “For the Love of the Music: The Club 47 Folk Revival,” which includes previously unreleased Bob Dylan audio performances, was recently released on DVD and Blu-Ray. There is also a companion soundtrack CD, although it does not include Dylan’s performances.

The movie is essentially the same as the one shown in limited release over the last couple of years, with only slight changes. However, I’ve been assured the Dylan content remains unedited. Other artists featured in the film include Joan Baez, Tom Rush, Carolyn Hester, Jim Kweskin, Geoff and Maria Muldaur, Taj Mahal, Judy Collins, Ellis Paul, and Peter Rowan. The DVD and Blu-Ray editions include extra interviews, and music videos from Kingswood Records recording artists.

As reported here last year, Dylan content can be seen throughout the film. Previously unreleased audio excerpts of Dylan performing three songs at Club 47 -“Talkin’ World War III Blues,” “With God On Our Side,” and, with Eric von Schmidt, “Glory, Glory” - are featured. Additional audio, and other stories and photographs relating to Dylan, are also included. (For more details, check out my detailed article from April, 2012.)

Below is the track listing for the CD:

Soundtrack: Music from the motion picture "For the Love of the Music" and other songs inspired by Club 47

  • 1. "San Francisco Bay Blues" Tom Rush
  • 2. "My Rough and Rowdy Ways" John Byrne Cooke and Philip Sterk
  • 3. "Morning Song" Jack Landrón
  • 4. "One Morning in May" Jim Rooney
  • 5. "Blue Ridge Mountain Blues" Jim Rooney and Peter Rowan
  • 6. "The Walls of Time" Peter Rowan
  • 7. "Oh Death" Tim Eriksen
  • 8. "Red River Valley Variations" David Amram, Peter Rowan and James Preston
  • 9. "Hurricane Angel" Ellis Paul
  • 10. "Above the Sea" Red Heart the Ticker
  • 11. "I Have No Idea" Tripping Lily
  • 12. "True North" Meg Hutchinson and Antje Duvekot
  • 13. "Sweet Spot" Antje Duvekot, Meg Hutchinson and Ellis Paul
  • 14. "Stand Together" Hayley Reardon

The Blu-Ray, DVD, and CD versions of “For the Love of the Music: The Club 47 Folk Revival” are all available from the official website.

Speaking of folk music and Club 47, Tom Rush will be playing Symphony Hall this Saturday with Patty Larkin, Sarah Lee Guthrie & Johnny Irion, and a special performance by the Jim Kweskin Jug Band, featuring an on-stage reunion of Kweskin, Maria Muldaur, Geoff Muldaur and Bill Keith. Seats are still available, although tickets are going fast. See you there!

Keep up with Bob Dylan Examiner news. Just click on Subscribe above, or follow @DylanExaminer on Twitter. Harold Lepidus also writes the Performing Arts column for Thanks for your support.


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

Related Videos:

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!