Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Christopher Plummer honored by Theatre World Awards leaves epic evening

Broadway Global and Theatre Chat share our exclusive look at The 70th Annual Theatre World Awards. These awards have been around longer than the Tony Awards, they honor amazing performances from on/off Broadway first time talents. We know Oscars are for Film, Emmy for TV, Broadway Global for Producers, Tony Awards honor the host of the Tony Awards.. like Neil Patrick Harris (Headwig). All kidding aside, the Theatre World Awards complete the puzzle of awards, by honoring new talents on Broadway, some who just happen to be huge TV, Film stars as well. The cherry on the cake of awards is having creditable voters invested in stage arts, honoring iconic stars like Christopher Plummer, with their Lifetime Achievement Award.

One of the most important awards for theatre leaves epic mark in history.
Theatre World Awards

Presenters included DeAdre Aziza, Dylan Baker, Len Cariou, Tovah Feldshuh, Trent Kowalik, Jefferson Mays, John McMartin, and Zachary Quinto, with special performances by Mr. Cariou and Rob McClure. The Theatre World Awards hosted annually by well-known theater journalist, Peter Filichia made theatre history as on Monday June 2, 2014 presenting their first ever "Lifetime Achievement Award". Produced by Theatre World Awards, Inc. the Board of Directors Honored Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performance, the 6th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater for an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production, and the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, were announced by the Theatre World Awards.

Citi, was a Proud Sponsor of the 70th Annual Theatre World Awards. Stars and nominees were coordinated by The Erlick Group ( a New York based agency that represents leading entertainment properties in theatre, music, film and venues. First presented in 1945, the prestigious Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, the Editor- in-Chief of both Theatre World and its companion volume, Screen World, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production.

Broadway Global and Theatre Chat were honored with an special invite to attend, because the ceremony is a private. The invitation-only event was followed by a party at COPACABANA to celebrate the new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World “family.” In what has become a highly entertaining and often touching tradition, 12 previous winners serve as the presenters, and often relive moments from past ceremonies and share wonderful stories rarely heard at other theatrical awards.

The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee that includes David Cote (Time Out New York and “NY1”), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post), and Linda Winer (Newsday). The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater honors an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. Dorothy Loudon, who had the unique talent of being able to make audiences laugh and cry, made her Broadway debut in Nowhere to Go But Up for which she received a Theatre World Award for her performance. She received a Tony Award for her incomparable performance as ‘Miss Hannigan’ in Annie, and went on to triumphs originating roles in Noises Off, Westside Waltz, and Michael Bennett’s Ballroom.

Broadway Global and Theatre Chat share their similar mission, to "keep Artists employed and Patrons informed". By honoring outstanding artists on and off Broadway and iconic stars with the new Lifetime Achievement Award Theatre World Awards give respect, hope, creditability to new talents, who don't need to host the Tony Awards to win. Those who have read the articles about the amount of voters for awards shows, and statistics on how many shows they actually see, will respect the credibility of the Theatre World Awards, who presented a class act 2014 ceremony with its' tradition of excellence!

The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence is chosen by the Trustees of The Dorothy Loudon Foundation, Lionel Larner, Executive Director, together with recommendations from the Theatre World Awards Committee.

The John Willis Award is given for lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 66 years, encouraging new talent in an often challenging business. The John Willis Award will be presented annually by the Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors to the man or woman whose lifetime achievements and personal generosity to the Theatre Community merit special recognition and acknowledgement.

2014 Theatre World Award Winners for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance during the 2013-2014 theatrical season: Paul Chahidi (Twelfth Night), Nick Cordero (Bullets over Broadway), Bryan Cranston (All the Way)
Mary Bridget Davies (A Night with Janis Joplin), Sarah Greene (The Cripple of Inishmaan), Rebecca Hall (Machinal), Ramin Karimloo (Les Misérables), Zachary Levi (First Date), Chris O'Dowd (Of Mice and Men), Sophie Okonedo (A Raisin in the Sun), Emerson Steele (Violet).

Lauren Worsham (A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder) 2014 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater Winner. Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production Celia Keenan-Bolger for her performance as Laura in The Glass Menagerie. The 2014 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner Christopher Plummer.

Previous winners who have won the prestigious Theatre World Award at the beginning of their careers include Meryl Streep, Rosemary Harris, Marlon Brando, Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Anne Bancroft, James Earl Jones, Liza Minnelli, Alan Alda, Zoe Caldwell, Christopher Walken, Alec Baldwin, Bernadette Peters, Audra McDonald, Al Pacino, Grace Kelly, and so many more.

The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors is headed by 2013 Broadway Global Producer of th Year Dale Badway (President) whose daily presence is arts is unparalleled in social media, making himself reachable for new, up and coming playwrights, or production teams setting the bar for Broadway. Theatre World Awards leadership continues with the a list including, Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde (Secretary), Tabitha Falcone (Treasurer), and Michael Kostel. "Congratulations to The Theatre World Awards for honoring amazing talents that bring life changing art to the stage!" Broadway Global.

Report this ad