Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Chile dooms Spain to quickest dethroning in World Cup history

The start of the 2014 World Cup was the polar opposite of the end of 2010 for Spain. After winning the World Cup over the Netherlands four years ago, Spain's first game back in the tournament was an utter disaster against those same Dutch. But it wasn't supposed to carry into the Spanish's next match against Chile in June 18, especially with the champions' survival on the line -- yet another decisive 2-0 loss to Chile proved that theory historically wrong.

Spain dethroned after second straight decisive upset loss
Photo by Matthias Hangst/Getty Images

Combined with the 5-1 loss to the Netherlands on June 13, Spain has been outscored by 7-1 in the 2014 World Cup. For a team that won the 2010 Cup and the 2008 and 2012 European titles, this is unthinkable and unprecedented. But it isn't unprecedented for a defending Cup champion to be eliminated in the knock out stage -- it's just never happened this fast before.

Since the 1994 champion Brazilians lost in the 1998 final, three of the next four Cup winners have now been eliminated in the first round. However, the 2002 French and 2010 Italians didn't lose their first two games in the process. In fact, no defending champion has until now -- especially one that lorded over the world stage for six years.

Getting blown out by the Dutch put the Spanish against the wall, but they were still supposed to beat Chile and Australia and finish second in Group B. This would have likely put Spain in a killer second round match with Brazil, but the Brazilians haven't been dominant thus far in their own World Cup.

There was still a slight window for the Spanish to get out of this mess, at least until the Chileans struck with goals from Eduardo Vargas and Charles Aranguiz in the 20'th and 43'rd minute. From then on, Spain was stuck no matter how desperate it got, with the epitome coming on a Sergio Busquets volley that went wide.

Chile and the Netherlands are now the first two nations to advance in the World Cup with six points, while Spain and Australia are in the basement with zero points. The Spanish's last game as champions will be a consolation match against the Australians on June 23, at the same time the Dutch and Chileans play for the group title -- and the likely chance to avoid the Brazilians in round two.

Report this ad