Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Health & Fitness
  3. Disease & Illness

Chicago White Sox & Jefferson Awards honor student service leaders

See also

Before Wednesday night’s Chicago White Sox game, the Chicago White Sox and the Jefferson Awards for Public Service honored Chicago area high school leaders on U.S. Cellular Field. More than 150 student leaders were invited to the game, several of whom were recognized for their service and leadership.

The Jefferson Awards is America’s highest “Nobel Prize” honor for public service and one of the largest multipliers of volunteer service in the country – with youth, in communities, and in workplaces. For over 41 years, the Jefferson Awards has recognized a “Who’s Who” of American heroes and more than 50,000 unsung heroes in grassroots communities across the nation, including in the greater Chicagoland area. The goal is to “Build a Culture of Service” by training, recognizing, and measuring impact with Americans from 5 to 95.

The Chicago White Sox recognized students participating in the Jefferson Awards for Public Service Students in Action Program. These students are serving as role models by helping to pass on the tradition of volunteer service to future generations, while promoting a culture of leadership development, engagement, and impact.

The schools and students recognized were:

Chicago Academy High School – Hannah Modjeski and
Oliver Eugenio

Christ the King Jesuit College Preparatory High School – which was the 2014 Regional Recipient for Outstanding Service by a High School – Jalisha Sanders,
Amber Pollards, Shakariah Ruffin, and Aldontae Guess

Gage Park High School – Ricardo Govea and Dwayne Freeman

John F. Kennedy High School – the 2014 Runner-Up and Best CPS SIA High School for Outstanding Service – Hugo Calderon, Grace Jurevis, and Nicole Toledo

Thornton Township High Schools District 205 – representing the highest Ambassador level – Tyler Brumfield, Dawn Russell, Trayshawn Mitchell
Jaelin Harris

Illinois Institute of Technology Leadership Academy – a Students In Action program delivery partner – Katie Peters and Joe Valio

The Jefferson Awards Chicago area programming is led by Charlene McMann-Seaman Co-Chair of Jefferson Awards Chicago and Member of the Jefferson Awards for Public Service National Board of Selectors and Regional Program Director Elizabeth Wackerlin.



  • Randy Travis
    Randy Travis returns with 'Influence Vol. 2: The Man I Am' in August
    Today's Buzz
  • Alternative medicine
    Alternative medicine: Remedies to make the bugs in your body go away for good
    7 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Back to school
    These 10 items are sure winners on your back-to-school shopping trip
    12 Photos
  • Izabel Goulart
    Izabel Goulart walks the runway with Studio F at Colombia Moda
    19 Photos
  • Ombre' technique
    Go for the gusto: What ombre' technique are you?
    5 Photos