Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. TV

Cher Lloyd's 'Sorry I'm Late' album bombs in U.S. and Canada, gets mixed reviews

See also

Cher Lloyd is having a sophomore slump, and she's still a one-hit wonder in the United States and Canada. Her second album, "Sorry I'm Late," was released on Epic Records in the U.S. and Canada on May 27, 2014. The album is a flop, based on its dismal ranking on the iTunes chart. As of May 29, 2014, "Sorry I'm Late" is No. 84 on the iTunes (U.S.) Top 100 Albums chart. Meanwhile, "Sorry I'm Late" is getting mixed reviews from critics.

The official Billboard 200 chart debut for "Sorry I'm Late" will be announced on June 4, 2014.*

Lloyd came in fourth place on "The X Factor" U.K. in 2010.

Despite having millions of followers on Twitter and Facebook, the harsh reality is that most of these fans are not buying her latest music, or else she'd be having bigger hits all over the world.

Lloyd has been making high-profile U.S. TV appearances to promote "Sorry I'm Late," including performing on the 2014 Billboard Music Awards pre-show and being a presenter at the ceremony on May 18, as well performing on "Today" on May 27, 2014. The week of the album's release she also appeared on the nationally syndicated talk show "Live! with Kelly & Michael," VH1's "Big Morning Buzz Live" and the website MLB Fan Cave.

"Sorry I'm Late" was also streamed for free on MTV.com a week before the album's U.S./Canadian release.

Lloyd has also done extensive touring (especially in the U.S.) from September 2013 to May 2014. In September 2013, Lloyd headlined a U.S. tour, with girl group Fifth Harmony as the opening act. Fifth Harmony (which is also signed to Syco/Epic) came in third place on "The X Factor" U.S. in 2012. Lloyd was an opening act of Demi Lovato's "Neon Lights" tour from March 20 to March 30, 2014. Fifth Harmony was also an opening act on the tour.

But all this promotion and publicity are not helping Lloyd's latest music sales, which have been pathetic.

It's a big decrease from the success of Lloyd's first U.S. single, "Want U Back," which sold 2 million copies in the U.S. (and reached No. 12 on Billboard's Hot 100 chart) back in 2012.

However, Lloyd's subsequent U.S. singles have been flops: "Oath" (featuring Becky G.) peaked at No. 73 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, while "With Ur Love" failed to make it on the chart.

Lloyd's first album, "Sticks & Stones," was a Top 10 hit in several countries but only went gold in the U.K. and Ireland.

The flop sales for "Sorry I'm Late" aren't too surprising, since the album's first two singles ("I Wish" and "Sirens") have also bombed in the U.S. and Canada. Neither song made it to the official Top 100 singles chart in either country.

"Sorry I'm Late" will be released in the U.K. on July 28, 2014. Despite having a few Top 10 hit songs in the U.K. in 2011, Lloyd's more recent music sales have been on a downward spiral there too.

It's possible that Lloyd could make a comeback, but it won't be with "Sorry I'm Late."

Here are excerpts from critics' reviews of "Sorry I'm Late":

Idolator

"'Sorry I’m Late' may have really been worth the wait. While it’s still that fresh and carefree pop music that’s sure to be on every tween’s playlist this summer, it does have elements that show Lloyd as a blossoming young woman. And with Swedish mastermind Shellback serving as executive producer, there’s a variety of sounds on the album, offering a song for just about every type." (Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars)

Newsday

"Her single 'I Wish,' featuring T.I., is the bridge from her first album, still sassy and slightly unpredictable over a '70s-styled beat. The sleek, emotional Kelly-Clarkson-influenced midtempo ballad 'Sirens' is another nice surprise, showing a more serious side. Unfortunately, most of 'Sorry,' doesn't hold up. It's well-crafted, but devoid of any personality — a shame considering Lloyd has such a winning one." (Grade: B)

Popdust

"Her latest single 'Sirens,' especially, is one of the finest releases of the year, any genre. Here, she peels back the layers of her own life, sharing one of her darkest experiences ... Fans couldn’t ask for more on a project that sees one of the most promising rising stars shed her former bubblegum self and find a more mature, complex sound. Her (new) voice is loud and clear." (Rating: 4 out of 5)

*June 4, 2014 update: "Sorry I'm Late" debuted at No. 12 on the Billboard 200 chart, but the album still bombed because it sold a pathetically low 16,788 copies in its first week in the U.S., according to Nielsen SoundScan. Even though music sales overall are much lower than they were five years ago, there are still plenty of artists these days whose new album sells at least 30,000 copies in the U.S. in the first week. Based on the flop first-week sales for "Sorry I'm Late," the album is not going to last long on the charts and it has almost no chance of going gold or platinum. Meanwhile, Lloyd's latest singles continue to bomb.

Advertisement

Related Videos:

  • "Longmire"
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/eXbexFUpqmQ?VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • 'AGT' 2014 Semifinals: A 'Seven Nation Army' can't hold Miguel Dakota back
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/KpKS82GzMMs?VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • 'The Young and the Restless': Ratings' rise defies detractor's cries
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518292682" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url="http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=1304&width=480&height=401&playList=518292682&autoStart=true"></div>