Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Championship roll call for January 2014

Time has absolutely flown by from Thanksgiving up until this point. It is hard to believe it is already the middle of January; it seems as if it was just New Year’s yesterday. Things have changed in WWE-land in regards to Championships and 2014 looks to an exciting and tumultuous time for all of The Big Three. Here’s the who’s who starting out a new year.


WWE World Heavyweight Champion

Randy Orton

32 day reign

defeated World Heavyweight Champion John Cena in a Tables, Ladders & Chairs Match at the TLC pay per view on December 15, 2013 to unify the WWE Championship and the World Heavyweight Championship.

next Title defense: versus John Cena at the Royal Rumble pay per view on January 26.

WWE Intercontinental Champion

Big E Langston

59 day reign

defeated then-Champion Curtis Axel on the November 18, 2013 edition of WWE Monday Night RAW.

WWE United States Champion

Dean Ambrose

242 day reign

defeated then-Champion Kofi Kingston at the Extreme Rules pay per view on May 19, 2013.

WWE Tag Team Champions

Cody Rhodes & Goldust

94 day reign

defeated then-Champions The Shield (Roman Reigns & Seth Rollins) on the October 14, 2013 edition of WWE Monday Night RAW in a No Disqualifications match.

WWE Unified Divas Champion

AJ Lee

214 day reign

defeated then-Champion Kaitlyn at the Payback pay per view on June 16, 2013.

WWE NXT Champion

Bo Dallas

238 day reign

defeated then-Champion Big E Langston at the May 23, 2013 NXT television taping. The match aired on NXT on June 12.

WWE NXT Tag Team Champions

The Ascension (Viktor & Konnor)

126 day reign

defeated then-Champions Corey Graves & Adrian Neville at the September 12, 2013 NXT television taping. The match aired on NXT on September 25.

WWE NXT Women’s Champion


210 day reign

defeated Emma in the finals of an eight woman tournament at the June 20, 2013 NXT television taping to crown the inaugural NXT Women’s Champion. The match aired on NXT on July 24.

TNA Wrestling

TNA World Heavyweight Champion


44 day reign

Magnus defeated Jeff Hardy in the finals of an eight man, single elimination tournament to determine a new official TNA World Champion at the December 3, 2013 Impact Wrestling television taping. The match aired on December 19 as part of a Final Resolution free TV special episode of Impact Wrestling. AJ Styles was stripped of the TNA Championship on October 29 by TNA Dixie Carter due to a storyline contract dispute. At the December 4, 2013 Impact Wrestling television taping, Magnus defeated Styles in a No Disqualifications Match to become undisputed TNA World Champion. That match aired on January 9.

TNA X-Division Champion

Chris Sabin

42 day reign

defeated then-Champion Austin Aries on the December 5 Impact Wrestling television taping. The match aired on Impact Wrestling on January 2, 2014. Incidentally Aries beat Sabin for the X-Division Championship on the November 23 Impact Wrestling television taping. That match did not air until December 12, 2013, on Impact Wrestling. Therefore Sabin was actually Champion once again in real time by the time his Championship loss to Aries actually aired on television.

TNA World Tag Team Champions

The BroMans (Robbie E & Jesse Godderz)

88 day reign

defeated then-Champions James Storm & Gunner to win the Championships at Bound For Glory IX on October 20, 2013.

TNA Women’s Champion

Gail Kim

88 day reign

defeated then-Champion ODB and Brooke Tessmacher in a triple threat match to win the Championship at Bound For Glory IX on October 20, 2013.

next Title defense: versus Madison Rayne on the live television special Genesis on January 16.

TNA Television Champion


228 day reign

defeated then-Champion Devon at the Slammiversary pay per view on June 2, 2013.

TNA Women’s Tag Team Champions


Then-Champions ODB & Eric Young were forced to vacate the Championships on the June 20 episode of Impact Wrestling by Knockouts Division Executive Brooke Hogan due to Young being a male. The Championship was then officially deactivated on June 27 and removed from the website.

Ring of Honor

ROH World Heavyweight Champion

Adam Cole

118 day reign

defeated Michael Elgin in the finals of the a 16-man tournament to crown a new Champion. The Championship was vacated on July 3, 2013 due to a storyline injury to then-Champion Jay Briscoe. The semi-finals and finals of the tournament happened at the Death Before Dishonor XI event on September 20, 2013.

next Title defense: versus either Roderick Strong or Paul London on February 8 in San Antonio, Texas.

ROH World Tag Team Champions

reDRagon (Kyle O’Reilly & Bobby Fish)

152 day reign

defeated then-Champions The American Wolves (Eddie Edwards & Davey Richards) on the Manhattan Mayhem V live event on August 17, 2013.

ROH World Television Champion

Tommaso Ciampa

33 day reign

defeated then-Champion Matt Taven at the Final Battle ’13 live event on December 14, 2013.

Report this ad