Skip to main content
Report this ad

CFDA 2010 award winners announced

Iris Apfel with Accessory Design winner, Alexis Bittar.
Iris Apfel with Accessory Design winner, Alexis Bittar.

After much speculation and anticipation regarding Monday night's ceremony, the winners of the various CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) awards have been announced.

Marc Jacobs with his ninth CFDA award.
Huffington Post

Without surprise, Marc Jacobs pulled in the award for Womenswear Designer of the Year (his ninth CFDA award to date - he's now won three awards in each womenswear, menswear and accessories categories), which undoubtedly has to do with his headstrong Spring/Summer 2010 collection. In the face of studs, zippers, and black leather, Jacobs remained true to style while still being completely relevant, managing to pull off his highly feminine, ruffles-and-lace frills in the face of a very dystopian trend.

Alexis Bittar, the king of color and elegance, took home the award for Accessory Design which was well deserved. He is famous for his work with Lucite, but his website boasts his numerous skills working with other materials, as well.

The highly visible and greatly speculated Swarovski Award for emerging talents went to Parsons graduate Jason Wu, whose work with Michelle Obama skyrocketed his career over the last two years. His work is beautiful and highly feminine, elegant and strong - a promising winner of an appropriate award.

Michael Kors took home the Lifetime Achievement award, fittingly, as his expansive brand has made its way into every room in our homes - our closets being a constant destination of his work. He has mastered the tightrope between luxury fashion and affordable style between his high-end line, Michael Kors, and MICHAEL Michael Kors mid-range line.

View the slideshow for photos of all the CFDA winners.


Report this ad